Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2016, 04:25 PM   #1
Jose
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Default Psi powers and skills

So if making a Psionic and doing a set of powers.

So doing a TK bullet and hitting a man sized target which is the correct procedure:

I: Roll to manifest the power, with penalties to hit the target.

Or

I: Roll to manifest the power.
II: Roll vs innate attack to hit the target.

The manifest power skill for for example TK bullet is a IQ/hard skill. It's just if I need the innate attack or I do this when manifesting the power.
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2016, 04:37 PM   #2
Ulzgoroth
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default Re: Psi powers and skills

Based on the ability (which has 'based on IQ' as a modifier) and the total absence of the Innate Attack skill in GURPS Psis, I don't think Innate Attack is relevant.

It might, however, be the second case with the TK Bullet skill used in the second roll instead of Innate Attack. Considering the costs of failing a manifestation, and the strangeness of being more likely to suffer them if tossing pebbles at small or distant targets, I'd be strongly inclined to this interpretation.
__________________
I don't know any 3e, so there is no chance that I am talking about 3e rules by accident.
Ulzgoroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2016, 05:01 PM   #3
PK
Assistant GURPS Line Editor
 
PK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dobbstown Sane Asylum
Default Re: Psi powers and skills

As the ability states, "Take an Attack maneuver and make a skill roll, with all normal modifiers for the ranged attack." Because there's no mention of a second skill roll, you only roll once, and it's to attack. If you fail the roll, you miss, but the bullet still goes somewhere.

That said, if the GM prefers to interpret a failed roll as "your ability didn't even manifest," that's fine too, but it isn't the default assumption.
__________________
Reverend Pee Kitty of the Order Malkavian-Dobbsian (Twitter) (LJ)

MyGURPS: My house rules and GURPS resources.

#SJGamesLive: I answered questions about GURPS After the End and more!
{Watch Video} - {Read Transcript}
PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2016, 05:08 PM   #4
Ulzgoroth
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default Re: Psi powers and skills

Quote:
Originally Posted by PK View Post
As the ability states, "Take an Attack maneuver and make a skill roll, with all normal modifiers for the ranged attack." Because there's no mention of a second skill roll, you only roll once, and it's to attack. If you fail the roll, you miss, but the bullet still goes somewhere.

That said, if the GM prefers to interpret a failed roll as "your ability didn't even manifest," that's fine too, but it isn't the default assumption.
If there's no manifestation roll, does that mean there's no opportunity for a power-injuring critical failure?
__________________
I don't know any 3e, so there is no chance that I am talking about 3e rules by accident.
Ulzgoroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2016, 05:55 PM   #5
PK
Assistant GURPS Line Editor
 
PK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dobbstown Sane Asylum
Default Re: Psi powers and skills

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulzgoroth View Post
If there's no manifestation roll, does that mean there's no opportunity for a power-injuring critical failure?
No, you still check for that on a critical failure. Unless an ability says otherwise, all of the How Psi Works rules apply to it.
__________________
Reverend Pee Kitty of the Order Malkavian-Dobbsian (Twitter) (LJ)

MyGURPS: My house rules and GURPS resources.

#SJGamesLive: I answered questions about GURPS After the End and more!
{Watch Video} - {Read Transcript}
PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2016, 05:59 PM   #6
Ulzgoroth
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default Re: Psi powers and skills

Quote:
Originally Posted by PK View Post
No, you still check for that on a critical failure. Unless an ability says otherwise, all of the How Psi Works rules apply to it.
That means that ranged attack penalties like light level, concealment, range, and size get to contribute to breaking your powers...

And even just missing a shot means taking the repeated attempt penalties.
__________________
I don't know any 3e, so there is no chance that I am talking about 3e rules by accident.
Ulzgoroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2016, 06:00 PM   #7
Jose
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Default Re: Psi powers and skills

Ok so its number 1, thanks for the help.
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2016, 06:05 PM   #8
PK
Assistant GURPS Line Editor
 
PK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dobbstown Sane Asylum
Default Re: Psi powers and skills

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulzgoroth View Post
That means that ranged attack penalties like light level, concealment, range, and size get to contribute to breaking your powers...
Right. Penalties to your skill roll may* make it more likely that you'll critically fail, because that's how every skill works in GURPS. It doesn't matter where the penalties come from. If you're trying to do something very difficult and tricky with your psi, you're accepting a greater degree of risk.

* In practice, this only happens when your skill (A) drops from 16+ to 15 or less, or (B) drops from 7+ to 6 or less.

Quote:
And even just missing a shot means taking the repeated attempt penalties.
Yep.

Mind you, if you prefer to separate TK Bullet (along with all other "Attack" abilities!) into a two-roll process, that's a perfectly viable house rule. Just be consistent across the board and there shouldn't be any significant balance issues.
__________________
Reverend Pee Kitty of the Order Malkavian-Dobbsian (Twitter) (LJ)

MyGURPS: My house rules and GURPS resources.

#SJGamesLive: I answered questions about GURPS After the End and more!
{Watch Video} - {Read Transcript}
PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2016, 05:14 PM   #9
Maz
 
Maz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Denmark
Default Re: Psi powers and skills

I am not using GURPS psionic powers, but my own psi powers. So feel free to ignore this.

In it I have a few different types of psionic powers.

General powers work as normal and all require a IQ/skill check to activate and usually at least one concentration action.

Attack powers are any power that are any sort of direct attack. These do not require concentration actions but can use any Attack manoeuvres. They do not require a skill check but an Innate Attack roll. However they all have a "malf" number equal to what their IQ/Skill would be.
Maz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
psionics

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.