Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 07-20-2018, 11:14 AM   #1
jcanup42

Default How do You handle this?

I realize that some of you run a more "Narrative" game. This question isn't for you.

This question is for those of you who use a battle-mat, miniatures and try to run realistic combats. Also, as a GM, I do not use a GM screen to hide my rolls. My players like it that way and they except the dice, as they fall. We've been playing games this way for decades and we have a lot of fun this way. I am an experienced GM, but I am actually new to GURPS.

Situation
I was GMing a game last Saturday and the 5 PCs were fighting several foes in the final Boss fight (an Ogre Chieftain and his lesser Minions). Over the course of the battle, the different combatants (PCs and NPCs) took damage, became Stunned, Knocked Down, Prone, Crouching, took Major Wounds, Knocked Out, fell Below 1/3 HP, Died, etc.

There was a lot of different condition that each combatant had at different times, and each condition has its own modifiers that come with it. I went through several pieces of paper scribbling various notes and I am sure that I messed up a time or two.

Question
What are your specific GURPS suggestions to help be better prepared for the next combat and to make orchestrating the combat easier?

Thanks - Jim
jcanup42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 11:23 AM   #2
Apollonian

Default Re: How do You handle this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcanup42 View Post
I realize that some of you run a more "Narrative" game. This question isn't for you.