Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip > The Fantasy Trip: House Rules

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-05-2022, 04:49 PM   #11
tomc
 
tomc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Default Re: Using Two Shields at Once

Thanks for the responses.

First off, I'm defining a weapon as "something you hold in your hand to fight with". If you're more strict with the rules-as-written, then two shields at once is a clear no go.

I don't think it's too big a stretch though, since Two Weapon talent lets you fight effectively with some awkward combos such as a spear and a morning star. Also, Shield is a one point talent, while Sword, Ax/Mace etc. are two points each, which makes me think a shield is easier to use.

I'm on the fence about doubling the attacker's DX penalty though. Would a second shield make the user twice as effective? Maybe, maybe not, but I thought he could use all the help he can get.

And there are some downsides:

He only does 1-2 damage with the shield, which isn't going to win many fights.
He's still vulnerable to HTH, attacks from behind, environment damage, etc.
Shield, Shield Expertise and Two Weapon all together cost 5 IQ points, which isn't much if you're just building gladiators, but there's a real opportunity cost if you're making a full fledged PC.

The two shield expert wouldn't make a very good PC. Most of the time you'd just sit there and watch other players roll hand fulls of dice. I was thinking of him more as a specialized minion defending a narrow bridge, knocking foes into spiked pits, or defending the Boss Wizard.
__________________
OgreMap2

Freedom of Speech is not Freedom of Podium
tomc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2022, 10:20 PM   #12
JohnPaulB
 
JohnPaulB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Portland, Maine
Default Re: Using Two Shields at Once

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomc View Post
How do you reconcile Two Weapon talent (ITL p41) with Shield Expertise (ITL 39) when using two shields at once?
ahhh... have you ever seen anyone use 2 shields at once? Is this some special Kung Fu weapon style?
__________________
- Hail Melee

Fantasy Chess: A chess game with combat.
Don't just take the square, Fight for it!
https://www.shadowhex.com
JohnPaulB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2022, 07:05 AM   #13
tomc
 
tomc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Default Re: Using Two Shields at Once

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnPaulB View Post
ahhh... have you ever seen anyone use 2 shields at once? Is this some special Kung Fu weapon style?
I've never seen anyone summon a dragon either, but I allow it in my game.

Sorry to bother you.
__________________
OgreMap2

Freedom of Speech is not Freedom of Podium

Last edited by tomc; 10-17-2022 at 07:39 AM. Reason: Took the edge off
tomc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2022, 08:27 AM   #14
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Using Two Shields at Once

Problem is you don't engage and so your foes will just circle around behind you.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2022, 05:30 PM   #15
JohnPaulB
 
JohnPaulB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Portland, Maine
Default Re: Using Two Shields at Once

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomc View Post
I've never seen anyone summon a dragon either, but I allow it in my game.

Sorry to bother you.
I apologize; didn't mean for it to sound like ridicule. I have watched but a very few Martial Arts films and this sounded like it would be one of their techniques.
__________________
- Hail Melee

Fantasy Chess: A chess game with combat.
Don't just take the square, Fight for it!
https://www.shadowhex.com
JohnPaulB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2022, 09:23 PM   #16
tomc
 
tomc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Default Re: Using Two Shields at Once

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnPaulB View Post
I apologize; didn't mean for it to sound like ridicule. I have watched but a very few Martial Arts films and this sounded like it would be one of their techniques.
No worries.
__________________
OgreMap2

Freedom of Speech is not Freedom of Podium
tomc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2022, 02:18 AM   #17
David Bofinger
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Using Two Shields at Once

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnPaulB View Post
ahhh... have you ever seen anyone use 2 shields at once? Is this some special Kung Fu weapon style?
In the MCU Sorcerors aka Masters of the Mystic Arts use a pair of made-of-magic bucklers.
David Bofinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.