Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2018, 12:40 PM   #1
berger
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default What happens to the Battering Ram after combat

If I have a helper during combat we can use the Battering Ram with our four hands. After the combat I no longer have four hands. So what happens to the Battering Ram?

Does it go to the discard pile or can I put it back in my hand?
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 01:11 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: What happens to the Battering Ram after combat

Neither. It is still in play but is no longer a legal Item, so you must turn it sideways.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 02:20 PM   #3
berger
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: What happens to the Battering Ram after combat

Thank you for the clarification, but it brings me into a gray zone. Amongst my friends we decided to do away with the ability to turn a card sideways. We found that everyone was tapping their cards (we used to call it putting them into the backpack) and charity was not happening. The amount of cards in the backpack could get very large. We decided that we liked charity and how it helped out the lowest level player(s) so we did away with this rule.

So in a tournament you would turn the card sideways, but if you don't allow the card to be turned sideways, then this brings back my original question.

Would the card go to the discard pile or would it go back into my hand assuming I have room in my hand to carry the card?

I also just thought of the possibility that the card could be given to the lowest level player.

Since this is outside the official rules, it would be appropriate for you to tell me to do what I decide is best, but I would greatly appreciate your opinion.

Last edited by berger; 01-23-2018 at 02:26 PM. Reason: corrected spelling error
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 03:24 PM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: What happens to the Battering Ram after combat

It's not been our policy to provide rulings based on people's house rules, so you're going to have to decide on your own. I really don't have an opinion on what I'd do if I were to have a house rule like yours. I don't have house rules for SJG games so I never confuse myself when doing demos, and I seemed to have developed a mental block on that line of thinking.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 03:25 PM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: What happens to the Battering Ram after combat

I don't want to muddy the waters here by giving my opinions on house rules. We refer fans to these forums to get official answers to rule questions, and we have to be able to tell them that any answers they get from forum staff are as official and accurate as we can make them.

So, I guess, "do what you think is best."

That said, putting cards back into your hand is something that Munchkin avoids almost all the time - there are a few cards that allow that and they are very explicit about that fact. In general, once a card is played, it's played.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 04:56 PM   #6
berger
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: What happens to the Battering Ram after combat

Thank you for your replies. It actually did help. I have a good idea about what we are going to do, but I will not post it here so that it could not possibly be confused with official rules.

I will refrain from posting questions about house rules in the future.
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2018, 05:07 PM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: What happens to the Battering Ram after combat

I should have mentioned this earlier, but there is a thread that is absolutely for discussion of house rules: http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=37474

Having that thread is one reason we don't usually want house rule discussion to spill into other parts of the forum. It makes it clear that any posts in that thread are unofficial and not binding rulings. You're welcome to post your question there and see what people think.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.