Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2018, 01:58 PM   #1
Zmicier
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Belarus
Default Dice Silcer and Elf's Running Away

I'm an Elf and I must Run Away.
My Race ability give me bonus to my roll.
I use Dice Silcer.
Does the Elf's ability mean that I shouldn't discard Dice Silcer?
Zmicier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 04:14 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Dice Silcer and Elf's Running Away

"After you roll the die" implies that any bonuses or penalties are applied BEFORE you use the Dice Slicer. But I'll check with the designer - Steve - to be sure that was what he intended.

FWIW, Elves don't need to be any cooler, so this would be my ruling anyway.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 04:27 PM   #3
Steve Jackson
President and EIC
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default Re: Dice Silcer and Elf's Running Away

I agree with Andrew.
Steve Jackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 05:02 PM   #4
Zmicier
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Belarus
Default Re: Dice Silcer and Elf's Running Away

Any bonuses or penalties do not affect on Dice Slicer?
I want to know how does this work :)
And I want to remind of that:
http://forums.sjgames.com/showthread.php?t=155232
Zmicier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 05:19 PM   #5
Zmicier
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Belarus
Default Re: Dice Silcer and Elf's Running Away

Unfortunately, I did not quite understand this answer:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
"After you roll the die" implies that any bonuses or penalties are applied BEFORE you use the Dice Slicer.
Zmicier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 06:37 PM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Dice Silcer and Elf's Running Away

We changed our answer because we rethought how we wanted Dice Slicer to work. Apply all bonuses and penalties to the die roll before using the Dice Slicer - if you use it, you get an automatic 7 (assuming the regular six-sided die) and then discard the Slicer.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 12:28 AM   #7
Zmicier
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Belarus
Default Re: Dice Silcer and Elf's Running Away

Now I understand.
So it works like “one-shot” items (for the regular six-sided die).
Thank you!

Last edited by Zmicier; 06-01-2018 at 12:31 AM.
Zmicier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 06:20 AM   #8
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Dice Silcer and Elf's Running Away

If I roll 5 and apply bonus or penaltie to this before add 2, then it never be 7.
May be you mean "apply all bonuses and penalties to the die roll AFTER using the Dice Slicer"?
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 09:35 AM   #9
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Dice Silcer and Elf's Running Away

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moldon View Post
If I roll 5 and apply bonus or penaltie to this before add 2, then it never be 7.
May be you mean "apply all bonuses and penalties to the die roll AFTER using the Dice Slicer"?
Dice Slicer looks at the actual numbers on the actual die, not any modifiers. The text is very clear on that point, and my answer stands as given above.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.