Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip > The Fantasy Trip: House Rules

Old 03-27-2019, 06:56 AM   #1
Bestial Warlust

Default Defense and Dx

I'm new to TFT and like the simplicity of it compared to GURPS. I plan on running a game of TFT in the future to see how my group likes it. On that note I won't be using any house rules at first I want to play the system as is first. One thing I'm considering is allowing AdjDX to have a small combat effect. My thought is that if you figure is attacking another and the target has a higher AdjDX was to apply a -1 penalty to the attacker "DX" without really adjusting it to represent the targets better AdjDX advantage. Has anyone done something similar?
Bestial Warlust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 08:31 AM   #2
larsdangly

Default Re: Defense and Dx

I've toyed with a number of house rules in the past that are generally ways for high DX characters to have better defensive capacities. But, my advice is not to go down this road until you have at least a couple dozen sessions of play under your belt using RAW.

TFT is an exceptionally well balanced game when it comes to character design - some folks have fun dreaming up types that feel like they have some special edge in arena combat, but the great number and diversity of these sorts of 'optimal' designs is your clue that it really can't be done. There are some character types that are noticeably bad at straight-up fights, but none that you could say are ideal.