Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip > The Fantasy Trip: House Rules

Old 07-26-2018, 07:21 PM   #1
Bestial Warlust

Default No magic point costs?

I'm completely new to TFT I don't even own the rules, but I've backed the KS. I've heard good things about the game. And while GURPS was never really to my taste TFT seems to be. With that said one of my biggest nit picks with many games is the use of spell points I just don't like the mechanic.
I generally prefer a skill roll or some other way of simulating magic casting. So has anyone house ruled the game and used the spell cost as something different? or am I in the minority and everyone uses spell points. I have a few ideas but was curious as to what the community here has done.
Bestial Warlust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2018, 08:27 PM   #2
JLV

Default Re: No magic point costs?

I'm not entirely sure I understand your question, so maybe some clarification of the way the rules currently work would be a good way for me to start:

When casting Spells, each spell has an "energy cost" associated with casting it. That cost can be paid for either with "fatigue" (temporary "hits") to the Wizard, or, under the new Staff rules, by using "mana" (the equivalent of fatigue) stored in your Staff. Once you run out of stored Mana AND personal Fatigue (presumably, you would use stored Mana first, and only drain your personal fatigue when you ran out of available Mana), you fall unconcsious (or, if you don't quite overdo it to that level, at least not be able to cast any Spells until you recover some fatigue).

These Spell costs are constant for a successfully cast Spell, and even an unsuccessful attempt to cast a Spell *usually* costs you one point of Mana (or Fatigue).