Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2019, 07:05 PM   #1
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Question for the hive mind re. knocked down combatants

Consider the following situation: On turn 1 of a combat at DX 12, combatant A strikes B, doing 8 points of damage. B is scheduled to act at DX 11, and C (on the same side as A) at 10.

The rules state clearly that B is immediately knocked to the ground, loses any attack that could have been delivered on turn 1, and on the following turn (2) is permitted a limited range of actions (stand up, crawl or do nothing). Combatant C clearly should be licking his chops in anticipation for his +4 DX attack at a downed foe that will come at DX 10 of turn 1.

Or should he? In principle, the letter of the law permits combatant B to do any action other than attack during turn 1 (presumably at DX 9, because of the penalty for a wound of more than 5 points). So, why can't B just stand up on turn 1?

I feel like the spirit of the rule forbids this, and that B is intended to lose ALL actions during turn 1. But the rules only state that he has lost a possible attack.

What is your ruling, hive mind?
larsdangly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2019, 07:48 PM   #2
Shostak
 
Shostak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: New England
Default Re: Question for the hive mind re. knocked down combatants

Fiigures who have not already acted can do nothing the turn they are knocked down, including standing up, which is strongly implied by their allowable actions on the following turn.
Shostak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2019, 07:54 PM   #3
FireHorse
 
FireHorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Default Re: Question for the hive mind re. knocked down combatants

That's the way I would interpret it too: B is momentarily stunned (by that massive 8 point hit, and being driven to the ground), and can't do anything at all this turn.

And if C does his job, B will never get a chance to do anything next turn, either.
FireHorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2019, 08:00 PM   #4
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Question for the hive mind re. knocked down combatants

This jives with my extrapolation about the RAW, but do you know of anywhere in the text (beyond the obvious passage in p. 118 ITL) that makes this clear?
larsdangly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2019, 08:47 PM   #5
Tom H.
 
Tom H.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Austin Area
Default Re: Question for the hive mind re. knocked down combatants

Quote:
Originally Posted by larsdangly View Post
This jives with my extrapolation about the RAW, but do you know of anywhere in the text (beyond the obvious passage in p. 118 ITL) that makes this clear?
From your page reference, I see this:
Quote:
It may do nothing next turn except stay down . . .
I'm reading a lot into that word stay.

In any event, how's this: I checked the Wizard rules under Reactions To Injury, p. 21.
Quote:
If it has not yet acted that turn, it may take no action.
Tom H. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 07:17 AM   #6
RobW
 
RobW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Default Re: Question for the hive mind re. knocked down combatants

Quote:
Originally Posted by larsdangly View Post
This jives with my extrapolation about the RAW, but do you know of anywhere in the text (beyond the obvious passage in p. 118 ITL) that makes this clear?
The GM Screen also seems to support this idea:
"Knocked down last turn: DX = 0 for most purposes; only try to stand/crawl this turn"

But you are right, p118 says:
"A figure that takes 8 or more hits in one turn immediately falls down. If it has not already attacked, it may not attack that turn."

I think that's an error and should read, "If it has not already acted, it may not act that turn." Consistent with the Wizard rules quote above
RobW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 08:43 AM   #7
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Question for the hive mind re. knocked down combatants

One of many places where you need to have a good sense of the overall intent of the rules to apply what's written correctly.
larsdangly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 05:26 PM   #8
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: Question for the hive mind re. knocked down combatants

I think that, with some of that common sense, it's quite clear that no actions (not just no attacks) is what's meant.

Of course, I can also think of at least half a dozen other rules questions whose answers seem clear to me, but not to everyone (or not with the same answer as everyone).
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.