Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2019, 09:26 AM   #1
kommisar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Question re: changing options

p. 6 of the melee rules states:

"During a turn, a
player may change his mind about a figure’s option, as long as
• that figure has not yet acted, and
• that figure did not move too far to allow it to take the new option"

Can figure A, who is disengaged when it is his turn to move and only moves one hex,

is subsequently engaged by figure B, who moves adjacent,

change his option to shift and defend?
__________________
Character points are cheap when you are the GM.

Last edited by kommisar; 03-06-2019 at 09:32 AM.
kommisar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 10:25 AM   #2
RVA_Grandpa
 
RVA_Grandpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Richmond, VA, USA
Default Re: Question re: changing options

Quote:
Originally Posted by kommisar View Post
p. 6 of the melee rules states:

"During a turn, a
player may change his mind about a figure’s option, as long as
• that figure has not yet acted, and
• that figure did not move too far to allow it to take the new option"

Can figure A, who is disengaged when it is his turn to move and only moves one hex,

is subsequently engaged by figure B, who moves adjacent,

change his option to shift and defend?
Since figure A became engaged after his movement AND he only moved one hex, I think he can defend as long as figure B is in one of his front hexes.
__________________
RVA_Grandpa
-----------------------------------------
https://travelingthelabyrinth.blogspot.com
We never really grow up; we only learn how to act in public.
RVA_Grandpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 12:55 PM   #3
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Question re: changing options

I think yes; a shift is not identical to a 1 hex move, but this feels to me like its within the spirit of the rule.
larsdangly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2019, 05:31 PM   #4
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: Question re: changing options

Yes, though the Shift part is just about movement.

The option chosen is limited by how far you moved and whether you're engaged when your turn to ACT comes. And the limit for both Dodge and Defend should be 1/2 MA - the reason SHIFT and Defend says 1 is because it's organized into a list of options for Engaged figures.
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.