Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2018, 01:46 PM   #1
Jachra
 
Jachra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Question Regarding Hit Locations and Damage Caps

I'm looking to get some clarification regarding damage caps and hit locations that I'm a bit confused on.

My current understanding is that where a rule says "injury cannot exceed" means that no amount of further damage is applied to the target's HP. For instance, an Arm has a limit of HP/2, this means that once it's crippled it's ruined, and no further damage can affect the person using it (aside from Shock damage from further injury if it's still attached.)

According to High-Tech (Body Hits, p. 162), this includes the Torso and Groin. No damage over HPx2 (or HPx1) can cause further harm beyond pain (unless your strike hits the vitals.)

Is this correct, or am I interpreting "injury" wrong in this context, and this is only the limit on a single attack and not a total cap on the damage level?
__________________
Robots 4e - Conversion of Robots to 4e.
Force as Esoteric Skills - For SW campaigns.
Jachra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 01:58 PM   #2
Erling
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Default Re: Question Regarding Hit Locations and Damage Caps

As a default the cap applies only to single hit. That is, another hit to the same limb can inflict further injury. However, if you use Accumulated Wounds optional rule, any injury in excess of the cap is lost, regardless of whether it was inflicted by the hit that caused crippling or by later hits.
__________________
When in deadly danger,
When beset by doubt,
Run in little circles,
Wave your arms and shout.
Erling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 02:00 PM   #3
Jachra
 
Jachra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Re: Question Regarding Hit Locations and Damage Caps

Ah yes, Accumulated Wounds, thank you.

Is there any reason this shouldn't apply to the torso as well with Body Hits?
__________________
Robots 4e - Conversion of Robots to 4e.
Force as Esoteric Skills - For SW campaigns.
Jachra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 02:12 PM   #4
Erling
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Default Re: Question Regarding Hit Locations and Damage Caps

I think default assumption can be applied to Body Hits, i.e. another hit can inflict further injury if previous hit caused capped injury. I don't think Accumulated Wounds will prevent further injury to the torso, though. Because torso isn't crippled by max injury.
__________________
When in deadly danger,
When beset by doubt,
Run in little circles,
Wave your arms and shout.
Erling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 05:09 PM   #5
evileeyore
 
evileeyore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: 100 hurricane swamp
Default Re: Question Regarding Hit Locations and Damage Caps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jachra View Post
Is there any reason this shouldn't apply to the torso as well with Body Hits?
There is no "max injury" to torso hits.
__________________
Feel free to steal, borrow, fold, spindle, mutilate any rule, advantage, etc I come up with it.
evileeyore is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 05:14 PM   #6
Jachra
 
Jachra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Re: Question Regarding Hit Locations and Damage Caps

Quote:
Originally Posted by evileeyore View Post
There is no "max injury" to torso hits.
Do you have a specific reference or reasoning? See Body Hits in High-Tech for what I mean.
__________________
Robots 4e - Conversion of Robots to 4e.
Force as Esoteric Skills - For SW campaigns.
Jachra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2018, 06:06 PM   #7
evileeyore
 
evileeyore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: 100 hurricane swamp
Default Re: Question Regarding Hit Locations and Damage Caps

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jachra View Post
Do you have a specific reference or reasoning? See Body Hits in High-Tech for what I mean.
Ah, my bad, I missed that you were using the Optional rules from High Tech.


To your first post:
Yes, "injury" is treated as being from one attack. So you only lose damage if a single hit exceeds a target's Injury Cap (HP for the torso or twice HP if you're not using Bleeding rules). Further hits to the torso are separate affairs and only limbs stop tracking damage once they've reached their damage caps.
__________________
Feel free to steal, borrow, fold, spindle, mutilate any rule, advantage, etc I come up with it.
evileeyore is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.