Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS > GURPS Character Assistant

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2020, 12:41 AM   #1
Lameth
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default How to Remove a Stat

Armin, I need your help, or anyone please.

I added your data file for the 5th Stat, created a character with it, but now I have chosen to not use the 5th Stat for her. I removed the datafile, but the stat is still there and I cant seem to remove it no matter how many times I restart GCA. Even with the datafile not there, its still showing the Q stat.

How can I remove this stat from her stat block?
Lameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 07:49 AM   #2
Armin
GCA Prime
 
Armin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Default Re: How to Remove a Stat

That's a good question.

Attributes aren't really designed to be removed, as they're basically the one 'constant'. So, even a Resync leaves them in place when they don't exist in the new data set (which maybe shouldn't be the case).

You can remove them from display in the stat block, though, easily enough.

Click the attribute. Click Edit. Click Full Edit Window. Locate the 'mainwin' tag, probably at the bottom of the list. Click into the value field. Delete the value. Click OK to close and save the Full Edit window. Click OK to close and save the Simple Edit window. The attribute should be gone from the stat block.

Do that once each for Quintessence and Quintessence Points, and you shouldn't see them any more, even though they're technically still there.

You should *still* do a Resynchronize for that character, with the new data set loaded. Have everything on the left side selected, and at least Attributes and Spells selected on the right side, to ensure that Quintessence isn't being used for anything where it might have been before.
__________________
Armin D. Sykes | My GCA page
I am working on the new GCA as fast as my life allows. I post updates here.
Armin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 08:39 AM   #3
ericbsmith
 
ericbsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Binghamton, NY, USA. Near the river Styx in the 5th Circle.
Default Re: How to Remove a Stat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Armin View Post
You should *still* do a Resynchronize for that character, with the new data set loaded.
I suspect that this is all that needs to be done, since he said he already removed the data file which contained the new attribute.

The way that GCA works is that the character files are designed to be self-contained. You can load a character with any random data files, or no data files at all, and the character will have all of the base information from the data files which they were created with. This prevents a character from completely erroring out, or worse crashing GCA, because some important bit of information isn't contained in the currently loaded data file set.

If you want change that, to remove some of the base information and replace it with base info from the currently loaded data files, you need to Resynchronize the character to the currently loaded data.
__________________
Eric B. Smith GURPS Data File Coordinator
GURPSLand
The future keeps telling us what the past was about. You make the past mean different things by what you do with the time that comes after.
ericbsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2020, 10:59 AM   #4
Lameth
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: How to Remove a Stat

thank you both!
Lameth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.