Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2007, 03:21 AM   #1
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default Gnome's illusion

If a Gnome summons an illusion in order to win a fight, how would a curse "lose your race" affect the illusion?

Is this considered as an ability that you lose, as an epic human has to discard a pet, when losing his epic feat? (see here)
- OR -
Is this considered as a bonus (which remains) stemming from a race-ability like berserking and keeping the bonus when no longer being a warrior (see here)

Last edited by Domster; 06-25-2007 at 03:27 AM.
Domster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 07:48 AM   #2
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default Re: Gnome's illusion

I know. That is why I posted this thread as link in my question.
Domster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 03:27 PM   #3
Join Date: Oct 2006
Default Re: Gnome's illusion

It's my understanding that the special abilities granted by classes and races persist until the end of combat, even if they are discarded. The only things effectively lost the moment the cards are discarded are "Usable Only By..." cards and monsters that have special bonuses or penalties to certain classes or races, like "-2 against Halflings."
Jirtan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2007, 03:51 AM   #4
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default Re: Gnome's illusion

Can the MunchkinMan help us out here?
Domster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 08:56 PM   #5
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Default Re: Gnome's illusion

Hi y'all,

I know this is a bit of an old thread, but searching around the forums didn't seem to offer any resolution to this issue. I was wondering if anyone has come to a suitable decision about this kind of thing.

The other night, some friends and I were playing a game and ran into this situation:

A Gnome was facing a monster, so she played a stronger monster from her hand to beat it. A fellow Munchkin, however, cursed her to make her lose her Gnome race.

So the dispute became: Does the Illusion disappear because it was part of the Gnome's powers (no Gnome = no Gnome powers), or does the Illusion stick around because the spell had already been cast (no Gnome, but the spell's effects are permanent).

Can anyone offer any help? Cheers!
Sabu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2008, 04:26 AM   #6
RevBob's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Here on the perimeter, there are no stars
Default Re: Gnome's illusion

From the FAQ:

Q. If somebody changes your race or class during combat (such as with a curse), does that change your combat bonuses?
A. Yes. If you quit being an Elf, you can no longer get a bonus from Elf-only items, and so on. You can never get the benefit of two races or two classes in one combat unless you have a special card that allows it. Powers driven by discards are an exception. If a Warrior had already discarded a card to get a +1 combat bonus, and then stopped being a Warrior, he would keep the bonus, but wouldn't be able to discard any more cards for the Warrior bonus. Yes, this rule can be used to the player's advantage. Hee hee.
Since you had to spend a card (namely, the illusory monster) to make the Illusion, I would say it falls under the "Warrior exception" noted above and stays active.
Find me at @RevBobTnJ * Goodreads

Looking for a St. Aosbczkcs medal.
RevBob is offline   Reply With Quote

gnome, illusion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.