Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Other Munchkin Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2014, 12:28 PM   #1
thewrai6th
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default Reloaded die vs wizard run away

If a wizard rolls a 2 for run away, then discards 3 cards to get to 5, can someone still use the reloaded die to change the roll after the cards have been discarded?
thewrai6th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 01:55 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Reloaded die vs wizard run away

I'm trying to find a way to disprove this to myself (I don't have current access to the MQ card database), but for now, I can't see why not. However, changing the value doesn't change the bonuses, so changing the roll to a 1 would still make the result a 4.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2014, 03:30 PM   #3
thewrai6th
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default Re: Reloaded die vs wizard run away

Thanks so much for the response. That is also how we interpreted the rule after a nice loud argument, which I lost ;) There is nothing stating that you can't change the roll after any modifiers or bonuses are played on it.
thewrai6th is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2014, 05:20 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Reloaded die vs wizard run away

Now that I've had a chance to look at the MQ card database, it is clear that a Wizard can only discard cards before rolling to Run Away, not after. Either way, the Reloaded Die still can be played to affect the roll. For some reason, I was thinking that the more recent card game version of Wizard was influenced by the board game version, but that is not the case, and in the board game, you can not discard after the roll.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.