Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 12-06-2006, 11:08 AM   #1
zarnick

Default Katana reaches, swing vx thrust

Hi, on the last session, one of my players wanted to buy a Katana, so he bought it, and when putting down the stats, we've noticed something that didn't quite made much sense(or at least, none of us could find it). Why swinging with a Katana have a reach of 1,2 when trhusthing with it, have the reach 1?
Shouldn't all of both stat's be 1,2?

Thanks for clarifying thath.
Old 12-06-2006, 01:16 PM   #2
PK

Default Re: Katana reaches, swing vx thrust

I can't speak for the katana itself (I am not an expert on it), but several weapons in GURPS have different reaches in different modes. The reason is generally that a given form of attack is only practical at a certain range. Look through the weapons tables for other examples.

MyGURPS: My house rules and GURPS resources.

#SJGamesLive: I answered questions about GURPS After the End and more!
{Watch Video} - {Read Transcript}
PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 02:48 PM   #3
Ragabash Moon

Hmm.. I do see where that can make you go "Huh?"... Took me a minute to thing about it but, if you are slashing at someone, you can hit them with any point along the blade... However, if you are stabbing someone that is at reach of 2... well, the tip will just nick them... you need to be at range 1 and put the sword INSIDE their body...

Does that make the reach difference make sense?

Cleopatra: Whenever she assigned me to the switch, was that Voice, or was Raina influencing her thinking? Because, I mean, if it was Raina, she got inside my head and decided that I would screw it up.
Ragabash Moon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2006, 06:13 AM   #4
zarnick

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ragabash Moon