Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2012, 07:47 PM   #1
Undead Mantis
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default Quick, Stupid Question: Can you use the Cheat! Card to win?

Instance: Player is level 9. Player has a Go Up A Level card, and Cheat! Can he use the GUAL in concert with the Cheat! to reach Level 10 and win?

I'm 99% sure he cannot, but there is no clear stipulation in the given rules that he cannot.

Can anyone confirm my assertion that he cannot win in such a manner?
Undead Mantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 07:56 PM   #2
DoomedDuck
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Macon, GA
Default Re: Quick, Stupid Question: Can you use the Cheat! Card to win?

Cheat cards can only be used with items. GUAL cards are not items.
Also, you can only use a card/power to win if that card/power specifically says that the level gained can be the winning level (for example, Divine Intervention on a Cleric).
DoomedDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 07:58 PM   #3
Undead Mantis
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default Re: Quick, Stupid Question: Can you use the Cheat! Card to win?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoomedDuck View Post
Cheat cards can only be used with items. GUAL cards are not items.
Also, you can only use a card/power to win if that card/power specifically says that the level gained can be the winning level (for example, Divine Intervention on a Cleric).
What exactly defines a card as an "item"? Is it the presence of a gold value?
Undead Mantis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 08:11 PM   #4
DoomedDuck
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Macon, GA
Default Re: Quick, Stupid Question: Can you use the Cheat! Card to win?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undead Mantis View Post
What exactly defines a card as an "item"? Is it the presence of a gold value?
Yes. If it has a gold value or if it says "No value" in place of the gold value then it is an item.
DoomedDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 02:06 AM   #5
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: Quick, Stupid Question: Can you use the Cheat! Card to win?

From the Rules:

Quote:
Each Item card has a name, a power, a size, and a value in Gold Pieces.
Also, this post from the Critical Links and Useful Info thread is invaluable.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 11:38 PM   #6
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Quick, Stupid Question: Can you use the Cheat! Card to win?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Undead Mantis View Post
What exactly defines a card as an "item"? Is it the presence of a gold value?
The rules define Items as having a name, size, power/bonus, and a gold piece value. The last is critical. Just because a card is a Treasure card does not make it an Item.

The rules do give clear stipulations that there are some "unbreakable" rules, which can only be broken by a card which specifically says it breaks that rule (e.g., Divine Intervention, which allows Clerics to win without killing a Monster). Since Cheat! is very specific about what cards it can work on (in this case, Items, which are defined clearly in the rules), and does not say it can break the rule about getting the winning Level only by killing a Monster, the play you asked about is completely illegal.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 06-09-2012 at 11:44 PM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 07:35 PM   #7
mfranko88
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default Re: Quick, Stupid Question: Can you use the Cheat! Card to win?

It is definitely not allowed in the rules.

However, my group has some liberal house rules with the Cheat! card, and there's no reason yours can't either, if you wanted.
mfranko88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 10:44 PM   #8
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Quick, Stupid Question: Can you use the Cheat! Card to win?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfranko88 View Post
It is definitely not allowed in the rules.

However, my group has some liberal house rules with the Cheat! card, and there's no reason yours can't either, if you wanted.
And since we have a thread for discussing house rules, let's just leave the discussion of house rules in this thread to the above statement. No point in confusing the issue further. . .
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cheat, winning

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.