Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > Dungeon Fantasy Roleplaying Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2020, 08:54 AM   #1
WhiteLily
 
WhiteLily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Dallas, TX
Default Martial Artist's Power Blow Ability

From Page 33 of Adventurers:

You can draw on your chi to deliver devastating blows in melee combat. Each attack requires a separate use of this skill. Declare your intent and pay 1 FP before you roll to hit; roll against Power Blow after you hit.

Modifiers: -10 if used instantly, -5 after one turn of concen- tration, -4 after two turns, -3 after four turns, -2 after eight turns, -1 after 16 turns, and no penalty after 32 turns


So if we have the traditional situation where a party is standing before a door leading into an unexplored room, can the Martial Artist focus his Chi to use Power Blow on any foes discovered once the door is opened?
If the room is empty, does he still lose a FP?
Can he move into the room to get position on the monster, then use the ability?
WhiteLily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2020, 09:03 AM   #2
Anders
 
Anders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Default Re: Martial Artist's Power Blow Ability

[QUOTE=WhiteLily;2347993]From Page 33 of Adventurers:

You can draw on your chi to deliver devastating blows in melee combat. Each attack requires a separate use of this skill. Declare your intent and pay 1 FP before you roll to hit; roll against Power Blow after you hit.

Modifiers: -10 if used instantly, -5 after one turn of concen- tration, -4 after two turns, -3 after four turns, -2 after eight turns, -1 after 16 turns, and no penalty after 32 turns


Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLily View Post
So if we have the traditional situation where a party is standing before a door leading into an unexplored room, can the Martial Artist focus his Chi to use Power Blow on any foes discovered once the door is opened?
Yep.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLily View Post
If the room is empty, does he still lose a FP?
Yep.

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteLily View Post
Can he move into the room to get position on the monster, then use the ability?
He has to take the Concentrate maneuver, so I think he can only take steps. I wouldn't allow him to "hold" it and move around.
__________________
"Someone despises me? That is his concern. But I will see to it that I am not guilty of any word or action deserving contempt, Will he hate me? That is his concern. But I will be kind and well-intentioned to all, and ready to show this very person what he is failing to see - not with any criticism or display of tolerance, but with genuine good will..." Marcus Aurelius
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.