Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 05-04-2016, 03:42 AM   #1
Azure Angel

Default Malediction vs. Resistant

Hi~everyone, I'm a newbie to GURPS. May anyone here enlighten me, do Resistant protect against Afflictions or Innate Attacks modified with Malediction? I know that Resistant specifically says that it DOESN'T protect against Afflictions or Innate Attacks LACKING Blood Agent, Contact Agent, Follow-Up, and Respiratory Agent; and since all of these are "penetration modifiers", same as Malediction, an Affliction or Innate Attack with Malediction will automatically lack the above modifiers. Does that mean Malediction-enhanced Afflictions and Innate Attacks punch right through Resistant?
Old 05-04-2016, 06:30 AM   #2
Nereidalbel

Default Re: Malediction vs. Resistant

Outside of specific edge cases involving power sources, no, Resistant to [thing] usually won't protect you against Afflictions.
Nereidalbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 07:31 AM   #3
NineDaysDead
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nereidalbel View Post
Outside of specific edge cases involving power sources, no, Resistant to [thing] usually won't protect you against Afflictions.
Yes it will. If you have Resistant to [X] and someone tries to Afflict you with [X] you will get a bonus:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Powers page 169
Resistant: Resistant gives +3 or +8 to resist a broad category of attacks; e.g., Resistant (Poison) adds to rolls to resist any Affliction, Fatigue Attack, or Toxic Attack defined as poison.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Powers Divine Favor
Resistant to Pain