Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-23-2007, 03:09 AM   #1
vicky_molokh
GURPS FAQ Keeper
 
vicky_molokh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kyv, Ukraine
Default Can I put an Alternative Ability into a Modular Slot?

Greetings, all!

At some point, flexible characters become more efficient using Modular Abilities than Alternate/Alternative Abilities. So here's the question: can I put an Alternate (i.e. 1/5th cost) ability into a Modular Slot to save points? Either way, why yes/no?

Thanks in advance to all who answer!
__________________
Vicky 'Molokh', GURPS FAQ and uFAQ Keeper
The Eye of Eclipse Phase. A Discord server focusing on Roleplaying, Sci-Fi, Transhumanism, and discussion of other assorted topics, from tech to boardgames, from politics to philosophy.
vicky_molokh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 04:01 AM   #2
Harald B
 
Harald B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Netherlands
Default Re: Can I put an Alternative Ability into a Modular Slot?

I don't see anything against it out of hand, but how would you imagine it working conceptually and what would be the added value over switching through modular abilities?
Harald B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 04:19 AM   #3
Mehmet
MIB
 
Mehmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Default Re: Can I put an Alternative Ability into a Modular Slot?

I think - I may be over-reacting through my power play alarm system, by the way, the authors may have thought it inherently balanced - I'd only allow it if my setting has "package deals." This may be a "ultra USB slot" equipped with a "Ladar chip" that has a promotional alternative "Sonar" for instance (and only for another 1000 Nuyens!).

Cheerio!
__________________
My wife's music site, LadyObscure is for the prog/metal heads...
Mehmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 04:29 AM   #4
vicky_molokh
GURPS FAQ Keeper
 
vicky_molokh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kyv, Ukraine
Default Re: Can I put an Alternative Ability into a Modular Slot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mehmet
I think - I may be over-reacting through my power play alarm system, by the way, the authors may have thought it inherently balanced - I'd only allow it if my setting has "package deals." This may be a "ultra USB slot" equipped with a "Ladar chip" that has a promotional alternative "Sonar" for instance (and only for another 1000 Nuyens!).

Cheerio!
Long time no see!

Anyway, the idea is indeed similar:

"Here's this 5-bolted fantasy xbow, plus this magic bag of various magical bolts, but you can only pull out 1 at a time until you shoot it."
__________________
Vicky 'Molokh', GURPS FAQ and uFAQ Keeper
The Eye of Eclipse Phase. A Discord server focusing on Roleplaying, Sci-Fi, Transhumanism, and discussion of other assorted topics, from tech to boardgames, from politics to philosophy.
vicky_molokh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 04:40 AM   #5
Mehmet
MIB
 
Mehmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire
Default Re: Can I put an Alternative Ability into a Modular Slot?

Yep, I'm back, finally ;)

Well, as long as the PC don't get to design on-the-fly power/alternative power combos for that slot, it should be alright. Even that may be alright but it seems very abusable.

Cheers!
__________________
My wife's music site, LadyObscure is for the prog/metal heads...
Mehmet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 05:13 PM   #6
PK
Assistant GURPS Line Editor
 
PK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dobbstown Sane Asylum
Default Re: Can I put an Alternative Ability into a Modular Slot?

I'd certainly let you take the Modular Ability as an AA to another power. I've built a Green Lantern rip-off that way. (Buy a crapload of TK, and then add a few AA Innate Attacks and an AA Cosmic Power.)

I'm not so sure about letting someone take a normal Modular Ability and then using it to buy an ability that they define as an AA to another ability -- it seems like it goes against the spirit of what an AA is. I'm not dismissing it out of hand, though -- I'd have to think about it.
__________________
Reverend Pee Kitty of the Order Malkavian-Dobbsian (Twitter) (LJ)

MyGURPS: My house rules and GURPS resources.

#SJGamesLive: I answered questions about GURPS After the End and more!
{Watch Video} - {Read Transcript}
PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 05:53 PM   #7
Bruno
 
Bruno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Default Re: Can I put an Alternative Ability into a Modular Slot?

What happens to the points in your Modular Ability if the whole AA scheme is taken offline?
__________________
All about Size Modifier; Unified Hit Location Table
A Wiki for my F2F Group
A GURPS blog
Bruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 06:25 PM   #8
vitruvian
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Can I put an Alternative Ability into a Modular Slot?

Quote:
What happens to the points in your Modular Ability if the whole AA scheme is taken offline?
I'd say that if your Modular Ability is only for making AAs to another ability (which is probably the only way I'd allow this construct), then certainly it becomes unavailable as normal for any AA. If for some reason AAs was only one of the things you could pull out of the MA, at least you'd be limited to non-related traits bought without the 1/5 cost thing. And like any other AAs, the traits bought as such need to make sense as alternates.
vitruvian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 11:11 PM   #9
Fnordianslip
 
Fnordianslip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default Re: Can I put an Alternative Ability into a Modular Slot?

Sure, I'd let that work. Here's why. Let's say you spend 100 points on a 5 point cosmic modular pool that works for mental and physical. That will let you make an alternate ability for any power you have that costs 25 points or less. On the other hand, you could have bought 20 AAs for 25 point abilities. A pretty fair trade. If the modular ability is limited to be cheaper, that's still fine, as it would be less accessible than an AA. The only stipulation I would add in is that if you're using your pool for an AA, and either the original ability or the modular one are crippled or negated, you lose access to the modular ability for as long as you lose access to the base ability.
Fnordianslip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 11:38 PM   #10
vicky_molokh
GURPS FAQ Keeper
 
vicky_molokh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kyv, Ukraine
Default Re: Can I put an Alternative Ability into a Modular Slot?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fnordianslip
The only stipulation I would add in is that if you're using your pool for an AA, and either the original ability or the modular one are crippled or negated, you lose access to the modular ability for as long as you lose access to the base ability.
Um, why? This one doesn't seem to make sense, at least unless the MA is limited to only provide AAs:

If I have a magic crossbow (Innate Attack), and a box'o'magicstuff (Modular Ability), I usually pull out various magic arrows out of the box (AAs to the normal xbow attack), why does my magic box become disabled? If it is not limited to only providing magic bolts, why would it fail to provide other managadgets?
__________________
Vicky 'Molokh', GURPS FAQ and uFAQ Keeper
The Eye of Eclipse Phase. A Discord server focusing on Roleplaying, Sci-Fi, Transhumanism, and discussion of other assorted topics, from tech to boardgames, from politics to philosophy.
vicky_molokh is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.