Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Car Wars

Old 06-29-2016, 07:08 PM   #1
Darth Diablo

Default Collisions (4th edition)

Hi everyone.
Im a newbie here, its my first thread so please bear with me.
Im having a heck of a time figuring out the collision rules in Car Wars.
In particular, REAR end collisions.

The way its written looks like it could be translated in more than one way, and add DM snd TST (temporary speed, what?)

Id like to think im above average in the intelligence dept, but can anyone walk me through this?

My playtest has been on hold for 2 days until I finally broke down and registered here to ask the pros.
I can explain more in detail once this discussion (hopefully) ramps up.

Thanks in advance, Been a big fan of SJGs games since the mid 80s, but was too young to comprehend the rules (kinda like right now, except now im 41, Lol

Thx in advance!
DRIVE OFFENSIVELY
-Darth Diablo
Darth Diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2016, 09:26 PM   #2
Parody

Default Re: Collisions (4th edition)

Assuming the rear vehicle (RV) is faster than the front vehicle (FV) and both vehicles are going the same direction:

The collision speed is ((RV's Speed) - (FV's Speed)), rounded up to the nearest 5. Each vehicle does damage to the other using this speed (modified by their DM).

The final speed of both vehicles is ((RV's Speed) * (RV's TST modifier)) + ((FV's Speed) * (FV's TST modifier)). Both components are rounded up to the nearest 5.

The rear vehicle does not finish its movement for the phase if its DM is equal or less than the front vehicle's DM.

The hazard (and chance for concussion, if using that rule) for each vehicle is ((Vehicle's Speed Change) / 10), rounded up.

Does that help any?
Old 06-30-2016, 08:37 AM   #3
Darth Diablo