Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 07-19-2015, 03:30 PM   #1
EskrimadorNC

Default Need some help with hand-to-hand combat/Martial Arts

Hello GURPites!

I'm fairly new to GURPS and need some assistance from the experts on these boards.

I'm working on a running a campaign for 2 players that will involve a lot of hand-to-hand fighting and close combat. One of my players is basing his character off of Rama from The Raid (Sample of his skills). Needless to say, this is going to be a bit of cinematic game.

In preparation for the game, he and I have run several test combat scenarios both to familiarize us with the rules (We are using both Martial Arts and Technical Grappling and make sure we have a good understanding of the character's capabilities.

In going through these fights, I ran into a number of situations that I couldn't find answers too in any of the books. Here they are:

Rapid Strike:
-What is the sequence? Attack roll 1, Def roll 1, dmg roll, etc, then Atk roll 2, Def roll 2, dmg roll, etc, or do you roll both attacks first, then both defenses, etc.
-If the former, what happens if the first attack results in the opponent being prone or somehow out of reach for the 2nd attack?
-Is the way you handle two attacks for a Rapid Strike (per above) the same for handling AoA: Double and/or Extra Attack?
-In Martial Arts, the text mentions that when performing a Combination attack, if you use two different hands (i.e. Left Jab + Right Cross) then the Rapid Strike penalty is only -4 instead of -6. Does this only apply when using a purchased/improved Combination technique, or does it apply to any Rapid Strike if you are using different hands for each strike? What about doing a Rapid Strike with 1 punch and 1 kick, or two kicks with different legs?

Grab and Smash