Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2013, 12:57 PM   #1
VonKoob
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: The Apocalypse
Default Wizard Charm and Treasures

I came across this little discrepancy while playing last night regarding the Wizards Charm ability and the received treasure cards from the charmed monsters.

3 monsters were in play against me, I used the Wizard Charm ability to remove one of the monsters from play and took the treasures from the charmed monster.

Our question: Are those treasures acquired from the charmed monster playable against the remaining 2 monsters? Or would I only receive those cards AFTER the combat has finished?
VonKoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 01:08 PM   #2
cartmanbeck
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Rockville, MD
Default Re: Wizard Charm and Treasures

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonKoob View Post
I came across this little discrepancy while playing last night regarding the Wizards Charm ability and the received treasure cards from the charmed monsters.

3 monsters were in play against me, I used the Wizard Charm ability to remove one of the monsters from play and took the treasures from the charmed monster.

Our question: Are those treasures acquired from the charmed monster playable against the remaining 2 monsters? Or would I only receive those cards AFTER the combat has finished?
I believe it's been confirmed multiple times that you can't get any treasures from a combat until that combat is over, even if you do things like charm or destroy monsters with specific cards (like use a potion that makes a monster run away, or something of the like).
__________________
Twitter: @cartmanbeck
cartmanbeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 01:11 PM   #3
VonKoob
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: The Apocalypse
Default Re: Wizard Charm and Treasures

Ah, well thank you very much for that clarification! Shucks...
VonKoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 02:58 PM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Wizard Charm and Treasures

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonKoob View Post
I came across this little discrepancy while playing last night regarding the Wizards Charm ability and the received treasure cards from the charmed monsters.

3 monsters were in play against me, I used the Wizard Charm ability to remove one of the monsters from play and took the treasures from the charmed monster.

Our question: Are those treasures acquired from the charmed monster playable against the remaining 2 monsters? Or would I only receive those cards AFTER the combat has finished?
The rules state quite explicitly that you receive no rewards from combat until combat is over. Removing one Monster from a multiple Monster combat is not sufficient to consider the combat over. Also, the Wizard card doesn't in any way state that it breaks that rule. So, you can't receive the Treasures from the Monster you've charmed until you've defeated the remaining Monsters.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charm, treasure cards, wizard

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.