Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 07-03-2018, 01:47 PM   #1
Kilmore

Default Exposition on a battle on a flight of stairs, using the GURPS rules

I am not a professional GURPist. This is all my take from the Basic rules. I'm looking to have errors corrected.

My impending Fantasy campaign will have a lot of fighting in urban environments. Among these, indeed in the earliest encounters, will be battles on flights of stairs. To that end I'm trying to get good on the rules for such. The one thing assumed about the stairs is that each is 8 inches high, and 9 inches deep on the map (though actual dimensions may differ due to overhang). There are 4 stairs per hex. Different factors such as whether the stairs have vertical boards or what kind of baluster or wall they have are left open to consider different possibilities later on. The basis of much of this exposition lies in Book 2 of the Basic rules on pages 402-403, under the heading “Combat at Different Levels”.

A diagram -- https://imgur.com/jJUxg2v -- has been prepared to illustrate the positions from which combatants may face one another in this combat. All combatants are assumed to be carrying Reach: 1 weapons unless noted otherwise. Scribbled notes on the diagram tell the height of each step in inches.

Green figure “A” engaging red figure “B” is fighting at a level 2 feet above him, and is therefore (assuming the use of hit locations) at a -2 to hit his feet or legs, but at a +1 to strike his head. Meanwhile Figure 'B' is at +2 to hit 'A's feet or legs, but -2 to hit his head.

Red figure 'C' is engaging green figure 'A' in close combat with appropriate weapons. The difference between them is between a foot or two and has no effect on combat.