Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Card Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2022, 08:52 AM   #1
PBarone714
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Glendale, Calif. near L.A.
Default Car Wars: the Card Game Question

In Car Wars: the Card Game, if someone attacks your car's BACK side, can you defend with both armor AND the Paint Spray card -OR- a swerve AND a Paint Spray card in ONE MOVE? It seems fair to me because if you also play the Paint Spray card, it gets expended and you can't use it again later.

Also, can you use armor after a SPIN card? The Bootlegger Reverse card says you can use armor after the Bootlegger Reverse.
PBarone714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2022, 01:53 PM   #2
davester64
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Springfield, IL
Default Re: Car Wars: the Card Game Question

I had to re-read the rules to find these answers!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PBarone714 View Post
In Car Wars: the Card Game, if someone attacks your car's BACK side, can you defend with both armor AND the Paint Spray card -OR- a swerve AND a Paint Spray card in ONE MOVE? It seems fair to me because if you also play the Paint Spray card, it gets expended and you can't use it again later.
Armor isn't needed as Paint Spray causes the Attack card to be discarded.

Quote:
Also, can you use armor after a SPIN card? The Bootlegger Reverse card says you can use armor after the Bootlegger Reverse.
Yes.

Last edited by davester64; 05-13-2022 at 08:00 AM.
davester64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2022, 01:59 PM   #3
PBarone714
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Glendale, Calif. near L.A.
Default Re: Car Wars: the Card Game Question

Hey thank you, Davester64 for your insightful answers to my questions! I was afraid my questions were never going to get answered!

Bravo!!!
PBarone714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2022, 08:01 AM   #4
davester64
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Springfield, IL
Default Re: Car Wars: the Card Game Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by PBarone714 View Post
Hey thank you, Davester64 for your insightful answers to my questions! I was afraid my questions were never going to get answered!

Bravo!!!
Glad to help. I have enjoyed the CWCG in every incarnation it has had. Admittedly I have only played the newest version once. I had no clue there was a Paint Spray card!
davester64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2022, 02:40 AM   #5
PBarone714
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Glendale, Calif. near L.A.
Default Re: Car Wars: the Card Game Question

Hello,
If you get attacked to your car's Front and then play the Bootlegger Reverse, transferring the damage from the Front to the Back, can you then also play the Paint Spray to eliminate the damage and apply the Paint Spray to your foe's car if he fails to Swerve?

Thanks so much.
PBarone714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2022, 09:33 PM   #6
davester64
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Springfield, IL
Default Re: Car Wars: the Card Game Question

I think that's a legal play. If anyone from SJG wants to chime in with a ruling saying no, I am fine with that too.
davester64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2022, 05:16 AM   #7
PBarone714
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Glendale, Calif. near L.A.
Default Re: Car Wars: the Card Game Question

Unfortunately, my lot in life is that I play with munchkin rules lawyers who find ways to cheat if something isn't in the rules! They have no respect for my rules judgements as the game owner!
PBarone714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
carwars

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.