Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 07-29-2017, 05:50 PM   #1
TimTimmy

Default High Magic Spells

I am very new to GURPS, and there is a lot I don't get. I have googled this topic, and clearly others are confused by the same concept. After reading all those threads, I am still confused. For one thing, I never know which edition the answers are for, and which world the game is in.

So let's take a very specific case:
Edition: 4
Books: Basic set + Magic
Spell to cast 1: Permanent Shatterproof on my sabre
Spell to cast 2: Permanent Flying carpet on a 50 ton Sloop
Spell to cast 3: Soul Stone
Possible Cheese: Use "Luck" Advantage to not die casting Soul Stone
Possible Cheese: Use "Luck" Advantage to make really large Power Stone over 1 year

How do I cast these with the 400+ energy needed. Assume I have lots of time to cast.

I can start at stats of 10 and spell level 15, and some people say that is low. But how would even doubling the above stats change anything when casting 400+ energy spells?

Last edited by TimTimmy; 07-29-2017 at 06:07 PM.
TimTimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2017, 06:11 PM   #2
Tyneras

Default Re: High Magic Spells

Slow and Sure method from Magic allows you to enchant something at 1 energy per day plus 1 per qualified assistant, assuming no interruptions. So a 400 energy enchantment would take 400 days. If you have an assistant, then it takes 200 days.

Increasing your stats allows you to make more powerful Quick and Dirty enchantments (all the energy at once), but once it's beyond your Q&D capabilities you need Slow and Sure. High skill will make you less likely to fail on the final enchantment roll and have more assistants.
Old 07-29-2017, 06:15 PM   #3
Refplace

Yeah at that point your an accomplished normal not a super mage.