Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2018, 06:23 PM   #1
Lyden
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Default Annihilation card

Can the annihilation card be played against a player who has played a monster card from their hand to fight against to destroy that monster in combat? Thanks
Lyden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 02:49 PM   #2
Valkyrie
 
Valkyrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Default Re: Annihilation card

Yes, I believe so.
Valkyrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 03:26 PM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Annihilation card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lyden View Post
Can the annihilation card be played against a player who has played a monster card from their hand to fight against to destroy that monster in combat? Thanks
Yes. Note that this does not END the combat*, so someone with a Wandering Monster or some other way to add a new monster can keep the combat going.

* Exception: if you play Annihilation IMMEDIATELY after the other player Looks For Trouble, then combat never actually started, because the monster card was canceled without effect.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 05:15 PM   #4
Grej
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Moscow, Russia
Default Re: Annihilation card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
Yes. Note that this does not END the combat*, so someone with a Wandering Monster or some other way to add a new monster can keep the combat going.

* Exception: if you play Annihilation IMMEDIATELY after the other player Looks For Trouble, then combat never actually started, because the monster card was canceled without effect.
I have 2 questions:

1) Why this doesn't end the combat, if FAQ says: "If all monsters are removed from a combat, the combat ends immediately"?

2) If Looking for Trouble was cancelled by Annihilation and combat have never been started, can I Look for Trouble once more?
Grej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 05:22 PM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Annihilation card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grej View Post
1) Why this doesn't end the combat, if FAQ says: "If all monsters are removed from a combat, the combat ends immediately"?
Because that rule changed after the earlier post in this thread. You are now correct; the combat would be over.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grej View Post
2) If Looking for Trouble was cancelled by Annihilation and combat have never been started, can I Look for Trouble once more?
Yes, but not with the same card, since it was Annihilated.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.