Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 05-26-2014, 02:01 AM   #1
Ghazgkull

Default Air Jet damage

I'm new to GURPS, having just played it a couple times with some friends. One of the spells that has been confusing is Air Jet. I'm wondering if someone here can help us understand how it's supposed to work.

In the 4E Magic book, it says that Air Jet does "2D knockback damage" for every point put into it. Does that mean we roll 2D of damage for every point put into the spell and then calculate knockback? Or does it mean it only does the knockback affect with a strength of 2D?

2D damage per point sounds really powerful, so I wouldn't expect this to be the rule. But the book seems to make a really clear distinction between the "knockback damage" of Air Jet and the simple knockback which doesn't do damage in Shape Air. I don't know why these spell would be explained so differently if they have the same effect.

Thanks for any insights.
Ghazgkull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2014, 02:50 AM   #2
vierasmarius

Default Re: Air Jet damage

First of all, if you're not familiar with the knockback rules I'd suggest you review them (Basic Set pg 378). Basically, crushing attacks, or cutting attacks which fail to penetrate armor, knock a target back based on the total rolled damage (not the injury inflicted). Every full multiple of ST-2 damage (ie, 8 damage against a ST 10 target) knocks them back by 1 yard.