Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2015, 10:40 PM   #1
the_matrix_walker
 
the_matrix_walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lynn, MA
Default Modifying ST-Based Damage + Power Blow

When Modifying ST-Based Damage for a Martial Artist with Power Blow, you use their Power Blow Value to calculate your Modifiers, do you not?
the_matrix_walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 10:48 PM   #2
simply Nathan
formerly known as 'Kenneth Latrans'
 
simply Nathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wyoming, Michigan
Default Re: Modifying ST-Based Damage + Power Blow

I say no because I'm in favor of the more generous version of almost any edge case.
__________________
Ba-weep granah wheep minibon. Wubba lubba dub dub.
simply Nathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 10:49 PM   #3
Gef
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Yucca Valley, CA
Default Re: Modifying ST-Based Damage + Power Blow

Yes, and I think it would be legit to give an Accessibility limitation, on that portion of the cost of the enhancements, that only applies when the Power Blow works. I'd call it -20% for combination of FP requirement and skill roll.

EDIT: Also note that you could have enhancements on only part of the ST-based damage, frex, Armor-Piercing (2) for the first two dice would let a 4d attack penetrate DR 20 on the average roll.

Last edited by Gef; 01-07-2015 at 11:22 PM.
Gef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 11:08 PM   #4
Christopher R. Rice
 
Christopher R. Rice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Portsmouth, VA, USA
Default Re: Modifying ST-Based Damage + Power Blow

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_matrix_walker View Post
When Modifying ST-Based Damage for a Martial Artist with Power Blow, you use their Power Blow Value to calculate your Modifiers, do you not?
Yes. If you want to use it with all your attacks you have to find your highest thrust damage and calculate from there. See here.
__________________
My Twitter
My w23 Stuff
My Blog

Latest GURPS Book: Monster Hunters Power Ups 1
Latest TFT Book: Tomb of the Wizard-King

Become a Patron!
Christopher R. Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2015, 11:49 PM   #5
the_matrix_walker
 
the_matrix_walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lynn, MA
Default Re: Modifying ST-Based Damage + Power Blow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghostdancer View Post
Yes. If you want to use it with all your attacks you have to find your highest thrust damage and calculate from there. See here.
That's what I thought... Ha! I forgot I participated in that discussion...
the_matrix_walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 01:19 AM   #6
PK
Assistant GURPS Line Editor
 
PK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dobbstown Sane Asylum
Default Re: Modifying ST-Based Damage + Power Blow

For the record, though it introduces significant complexity, I agree that it's probably fair to give a reduction for the extra SBDM (Strength-Based Damage Modifiers) that had to be bought for Power Blow. I'd figure out the SBDM cost without Power Blow (let's call that [X]) and then the increase in SBDM cost when adding Power Blow (let's call it [Y]), and then charge the player for [X + (Y*0.8)]. It's a weird way to apply a limitation, but it's going to be more fair than any other method.

(Please note that it is only Power Blow for which I would do this. Not for anything advantage-based, etc. Power Blow is kind of a crappy way to increase your ST, so I can understand the need to address that here.)
__________________
Reverend Pee Kitty of the Order Malkavian-Dobbsian (Twitter) (LJ)

MyGURPS: My house rules and GURPS resources.

#SJGamesLive: I answered questions about GURPS After the End and more!
{Watch Video} - {Read Transcript}
PK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 03:03 AM   #7
the_matrix_walker
 
the_matrix_walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lynn, MA
Default Re: Modifying ST-Based Damage + Power Blow

I suppose you actually have to account for triple with a cinematic martial artist if they learn Flying Leap!
the_matrix_walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 09:57 AM   #8
Kromm
GURPS Line Editor
 
Kromm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montréal, Québec
Default Re: Modifying ST-Based Damage + Power Blow

I would not modify the cost of enhancements on ST-based damage to account for Power Blow. Power Blow itself has a cost independent of basic damage output. It costs the same number of points as any other Will/Hard skill – and requires exactly the same amount of time and FP – regardless of ST (whether you're a ST 7 teen ninja or a ST 70 super), whether you have Super-Strength (Supers, p. 35), whether you have Striking ST (any level), and whether you're wielding fists or swinging a superfine nanothorn katana (with bonus damage, corrosion damage, and an armor divisor). It can even amplify force sword damage, which is totally independent of ST (Martial Arts, p. 209). If it can do all this, then I see no good reason to charge points for the damage from the extra ST when it's modified by an enhancement . . . Power Blow isn't exactly fast or efficient, and making it even less attractive doesn't seem right.
__________________
Sean "Dr. Kromm" Punch <kromm@sjgames.com>
GURPS Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games
My LiveJournal [Just GURPS News][Just The Company]
Kromm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 12:00 PM   #9
the_matrix_walker
 
the_matrix_walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lynn, MA
Default Re: Modifying ST-Based Damage + Power Blow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kromm View Post
I would not modify the cost of enhancements on ST-based damage to account for Power Blow. Power Blow itself has a cost independent of basic damage output. It costs the same number of points as any other Will/Hard skill – and requires exactly the same amount of time and FP – regardless of ST (whether you're a ST 7 teen ninja or a ST 70 super), whether you have Super-Strength (Supers, p. 35), whether you have Striking ST (any level), and whether you're wielding fists or swinging a superfine nanothorn katana (with bonus damage, corrosion damage, and an armor divisor). It can even amplify force sword damage, which is totally independent of ST (Martial Arts, p. 209). If it can do all this, then I see no good reason to charge points for the damage from the extra ST when it's modified by an enhancement . . . Power Blow isn't exactly fast or efficient, and making it even less attractive doesn't seem right.
Cool beans... Welcome to my list of Krommnotes you delightful little post!
the_matrix_walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2015, 10:04 PM   #10
the_matrix_walker
 
the_matrix_walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lynn, MA
Default Re: Modifying ST-Based Damage + Power Blow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kromm View Post
I would not modify the cost of enhancements on ST-based damage to account for Power Blow. Power Blow itself has a cost independent of basic damage output. It costs the same number of points as any other Will/Hard skill – and requires exactly the same amount of time and FP – regardless of ST (whether you're a ST 7 teen ninja or a ST 70 super), whether you have Super-Strength (Supers, p. 35), whether you have Striking ST (any level), and whether you're wielding fists or swinging a superfine nanothorn katana (with bonus damage, corrosion damage, and an armor divisor). It can even amplify force sword damage, which is totally independent of ST (Martial Arts, p. 209). If it can do all this, then I see no good reason to charge points for the damage from the extra ST when it's modified by an enhancement . . . Power Blow isn't exactly fast or efficient, and making it even less attractive doesn't seem right.

If Power Blow can multiply force sword damage...

Does that mean Power Blow with a muscle powered weapon should disregard Min STx3 for the purposes of maximum ST based damage?
the_matrix_walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
enhancement, kromm, kromm answer, martial arts, powers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.