Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS > GURPS Character Assistant

Old 12-08-2012, 04:14 PM   #1
vicky_molokh
GURPS FAQ Keeper

Default New to GCA. Making Templates

Greetings, all!

So, I'm new to GCA, so some of the things I'll ask might look silly. I think it's 50% likely that there will be follow-up questions, so I'm naming the thread rather broadly.

So, I decided to try and throw together a race in GCA (for VUAFS). I decided to make the template from a character sheet, according to Armin's advice. So, I added some Dis/Advantages, and then I needed to add attribute bonuses and penalties with certain accessibilities. (The races in nocturnal, and, similarly to Orcs in GURPS Fantasy, suffer certain troubles in daytime only.) I can't seem to find attribute bonuses/penalties at all. In GCB you could usually take an Advantage that modified IQ/ST/etc. and add it to a template, but there doesn't seem to be one in GCA.

Thanks in advance!
Old 12-08-2012, 07:59 PM   #2
Armin
GCA Prime

Default Re: New to GCA. Making Templates

When you Save As... Template Within Data File, GCA will convert the attribute adjustments that the character has into advantages on the template.

So, if your only change to the character is adjusting ST to 12, then save to a template, the template will get a creates() section that looks kind of like this:

Code:
creates(_
{AD:ST Bonus from Racial Template, 20, gives(+2.0 to ST:ST)}_
       )
where Racial Template will be replaced by the name of the template. That'll provide the bonus to any character to which the template is later applied.

Now, to answer your actual question: