Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2020, 12:13 PM   #1
Sparrow19
 
Join Date: May 2020
Default Harry Potter - Play questions

First time Munchkin players, and we started late at night thinking it would be a friendly game. Words were exchanged. Cards were thrown. Feelings were hurt. Questions went unanswered. Here's two of them:

Finite! - If a player is in combat, other players have tossed cards in to stop her from winning, she's played even more cards, and someone plays "Finite!" (players turn ends immediately, if in combat all cards are discarded), does the battle resolve or does it end before finishing? She would have won the game and had 38 combat power, monster was up to 36 from all of our shenanigans. Her thought is that since she had done more damage than monster's power, the turn ends with her defeating it and leveling up. Ours is that battle never resolved.

Rememberall - take any card from Treasure discard pile worth 300 gold or less. Can you take a card with no gold value (a non-item card)? I wanted to use it to take "Go Up a Level" and was told no because I had to take a card with a gold value.

Thanks all! This game is fun, and I can see us buying other versions and fighting more!!!
Sparrow19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2020, 03:32 PM   #2
Fufu
 
Fufu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: "Made in Hong Kong"
Default Re: Harry Potter - Play questions

1. If the Combat is not resolved (meaning not every player agreed that the Combat is completed) when "Finite!" is played, then the player(s) in Combat are not entitled for that Combat to be resolved.

2. "Go Up A Level" (GUAL) card is not an Item. An Item must have a Gold Value.

Reference, Munchkin Harry Potter Deluxe Rules, Under Treasure Section, Items:
Quote:
All Items have a Gold value. “No Value” is equivalent to zero Gold Pieces, and these cards are still considered Items.
Fufu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 06:36 PM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Harry Potter - Play questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparrow19 View Post
Finite! - If a player is in combat, other players have tossed cards in to stop her from winning, she's played even more cards, and someone plays "Finite!" (players turn ends immediately, if in combat all cards are discarded), does the battle resolve or does it end before finishing?
The combat ended without a win or less because you have skipped to the Charity phase.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparrow19 View Post
Rememberall - take any card from Treasure discard pile worth 300 gold or less. Can you take a card with no gold value (a non-item card)?
The card should say any Item worth 300 Gold Pieces or less, so a Treasure card with "No Value" printed on it would be fine but a Treasure with no printed value at all, such as a GUAL, would not. This probably needs to be errata at some point.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
harry potter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.