Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2018, 02:39 PM   #1
MiB1213
 
MiB1213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Piscataway, NJ
Default Disengaged figures

Iím just reading the demo pdf of TFT Melee and confused about something. If you have two figures facing the same direction with one behind the the other (letís say A behind B)

I understand that B is engaged while A is not. The options for disengaged figures gives option b (charge attack). Would this be the option that figure A needs to choose to strike B with a readied melee weapon? Thus getting the +4 for striking from the rear?
__________________
~~The Illuminati is your friend~~
MiB1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 02:44 PM   #2
Melichor
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Default Re: Disengaged figures

Is this at the beginning of the turn?
Or after movement?
Melichor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 02:49 PM   #3
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: Disengaged figures

Quote:
Originally Posted by MiB1213 View Post
Iím just reading the demo pdf of TFT Melee and confused about something. If you have two figures facing the same direction with one behind the the other (letís say A behind B)

I understand that B is engaged while A is not. The options for disengaged figures gives option b (charge attack). Would this be the option that figure A needs to choose to strike B with a readied melee weapon? Thus getting the +4 for striking from the rear?
You could either Attack or Charge Attack, unless your opponent moves first and turns to engage you, in which case you could not Charge Attack. The +4 DX for attacking from the rear is assigned based on the facing situation at the time you do the attack, not at the start of the turn. If at that point your opponent is still facing directly away from you, then yes you'd get a +4.
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 03:43 PM   #4
MiB1213
 
MiB1213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Piscataway, NJ
Default Re: Disengaged figures

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skarg View Post
You could either Attack or Charge Attack, unless your opponent moves first and turns to engage you, in which case you could not Charge Attack. The +4 DX for attacking from the rear is assigned based on the facing situation at the time you do the attack, not at the start of the turn. If at that point your opponent is still facing directly away from you, then yes you'd get a +4.
When reading the list of available options I donít see any just attack for disengaged figures. Is that to imply you can simply make a melee attack if another figure is in on of your three Front hexes?
__________________
~~The Illuminati is your friend~~
MiB1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 03:44 PM   #5
MiB1213
 
MiB1213's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Piscataway, NJ
Default Re: Disengaged figures

Quote:
Originally Posted by Melichor View Post
Is this at the beginning of the turn?
Or after movement?
Letís assume A goes first in movement.
__________________
~~The Illuminati is your friend~~
MiB1213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 03:59 PM   #6
Rick_Smith
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Coquitlam B.C.
Default Re: Disengaged figures

Quote:
Originally Posted by MiB1213 View Post
Letís assume A goes first in movement.
Hi MiB1213.
In GURPS, a person moves and takes his action. Then the next person (who might be on the same team, or not), moves and takes his action.

In TFT, each SIDE rolls for initiative, and all of one side moves, then all of the other side moves. Then attacks go off, from highest DX to lowest.

So both sides will move before anyone attacks.

***

So in the example, A's side has won initiative. If A has a pole weapon, he might want to back up and do a charge attack, to do the bonus damage. If he just has a sword, he can stand still and attack.

The back up and charge option above, would require him to take the CHARGE ATTACK option. If he stands still he is taking the SHIFT AND ATTACK option.

Then it is B's turn to move. He turns around (perhaps shifting one hex). He takes the SHIFT AND ATTACK option.

Since B had a chance to turn around, A does not get the +4 DX for attacking a rear hex.

After everyone else has finished moving, A and B will attack each other in DX order.

Hope this helps!

Warm regards, Rick.
Rick_Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 04:50 PM   #7
Chris Rice
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: London Uk, but originally from Scotland
Default Re: Disengaged figures

Demo PDF?!?! I must have missed that!
Chris Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 06:27 PM   #8
Rick_Smith
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Coquitlam B.C.
Default Re: Disengaged figures

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Rice View Post
Demo PDF?!?! I must have missed that!
Hi everyone, Chris.
Steve Jackson has the Men in Black program (MiB). These are people who demo Steve Jackson games, tell stores what is up with SJG, teach people how to play, etc. The MiB are being primed to start demoing TFT.

If SJG is interested in recruiting some new MiB to promote TFT, with people in this forum, perhaps a MiB recruitment thread could be started?

Warm regards, Rick.
Rick_Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 06:47 PM   #9
Chris Rice
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: London Uk, but originally from Scotland
Default Re: Disengaged figures

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick_Smith View Post
Hi everyone, Chris.
Steve Jackson has the Men in Black program (MiB). These are people who demo Steve Jackson games, tell stores what is up with SJG, teach people how to play, etc. The MiB are being primed to start demoing TFT.

If SJG is interested in recruiting some new MiB to promote TFT, with people in this forum, perhaps a MiB recruitment thread could be started?

Warm regards, Rick.
Ah, ok. I thought I'd missed a thread. Thanks Rick
Chris Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2018, 07:51 PM   #10
tomc
 
tomc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Default Re: Disengaged figures

Quote:
Originally Posted by MiB1213 View Post
When reading the list of available options I donít see any just attack for disengaged figures. Is that to imply you can simply make a melee attack if another figure is in on of your three Front hexes?
I think "engaged" in this case is taken to mean "having a target in one of your three front hexes", even if they aren't facing you. While this is not really "engaged", it's not a stretch to just whack someone at +4DX if you're standing behind them. :)
__________________
OgreMap2

Freedom of Speech is not Freedom of Podium
tomc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
melee attack, tft

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.