Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2014, 11:46 AM   #1
The_Ryujin
 
The_Ryujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default Can you stack linked damage against DR?

Quick question for the hive mind, is there a RAW way to make an attack that has two diffrent damage types that stack?

For example lets say I want to stat something like a Warhammer 40k power sword using an innate attack that does normal cutting or implying damage but is also surrounded by an enegery field that erodes normal matter so I want it to do an extra +1d corrosive damage which stacks with the cutting/implying damage (note: to avoid confusion and people getting caught up on the power weapon angle; this is just a hypothetical example, I'm not looking to literally recreate a 40k power weapon. I know how easy it is to get side tracked on the fiddly details heh)

And if there isn't a RAW way of doing this, any ideas how to?
__________________
"Conspiracy theorist": Because people who show the evidence known lairs *GASP!* are lying must be crazy >.>

Guess I should hawk by blog here: http://gurb3d6.blogspot.com/
The_Ryujin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 01:16 PM   #2
chandley
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Can you stack linked damage against DR?

Link would be how you would do it, except there is no clean way of deciding which part of the damage is what penetrates DR.

Different damage types get different injury modifiers once they pass through DR, and stacking two dissimilar types with the idea that they help get past DR creates a problem there. About the best you can do in that case is to buy ONE Innate attack with a base damage type, and then add in all the damage effects of the other type through enhancements.

So:
Innate Attack Cutting 1d (Corrosive +100%), getting you a generally x1.5x wounding modifier after DR, and the ability to burn of impacted DR at the usual 5 damage to 1 DR ratio, along with the the "blinds one eye on a major wound" benefit on a hit to the face. Conversely, it should have to deal with DR (corrosion only) where a normal cutting attack wouldnt.
__________________
My GURPS stuff
chandley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 01:39 PM   #3
The_Ryujin
 
The_Ryujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default Re: Can you stack linked damage against DR?

@chandley: Ah, ok. That idea words, in fact with the idea I had in mind your suggestion might even work better since armor eroding properties of corrosive was what I was interested in. Thanks!

So pretty much take the point cost of the damage type you want to add, multiple it by ten and throw a percentage sign on it to make it a modifier.
__________________
"Conspiracy theorist": Because people who show the evidence known lairs *GASP!* are lying must be crazy >.>

Guess I should hawk by blog here: http://gurb3d6.blogspot.com/
The_Ryujin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 01:39 PM   #4
Ulzgoroth
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default Re: Can you stack linked damage against DR?

Link doesn't do it, Linked effects deal with DR separately.

Followup is the closest thing, but it's sequential and even there not cumulative for penetration.

What you want...frankly isn't well defined. The two different attacks can face different DRs and have different wounding types. There's no right way to resolve an attack doing, say, 7 cutting + 3 corrosive.
__________________
I don't know any 3e, so there is no chance that I am talking about 3e rules by accident.
Ulzgoroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 01:44 PM   #5
Ulzgoroth
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default Re: Can you stack linked damage against DR?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Ryujin View Post
@chandley: Ah, ok. That idea words, in fact with the idea I had in mind your suggestion might even work better since armor eroding properties of corrosive was what I was interested in. Thanks!
If the armor-eroding properties are what you want, why not just use Linked as written? That will deliver the corrosive damage and the cutting damage simultaneously but separately, so each can do their thing.

Or you could make the cutting be a follow-up on the corrosive, so that if the corrosive effect actually penetrates the armor, the cutting doesn't need to.
__________________
I don't know any 3e, so there is no chance that I am talking about 3e rules by accident.
Ulzgoroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 01:55 PM   #6
Anders
Banned
 
Anders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Default Re: Can you stack linked damage against DR?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulzgoroth View Post
What you want...frankly isn't well defined. The two different attacks can face different DRs and have different wounding types. There's no right way to resolve an attack doing, say, 7 cutting + 3 corrosive.
And for a good reason. Let's say the 7+3 attack hits DR 5. Is that 5 cutting that penetrates? 4 cutting + 1 corrosive? Any other possible combination that adds up to 5 damage. You need to also specify in what order they penetrate. It gets ugly.
Anders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 02:10 PM   #7
The_Ryujin
 
The_Ryujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default Re: Can you stack linked damage against DR?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulzgoroth View Post
If the armor-eroding properties are what you want, why not just use Linked as written?
Basically because I wanted the corrosive effect to be cumulative with the cutting/impaling damage, think like a plasma cutter effect.
__________________
"Conspiracy theorist": Because people who show the evidence known lairs *GASP!* are lying must be crazy >.>

Guess I should hawk by blog here: http://gurb3d6.blogspot.com/
The_Ryujin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 02:12 PM   #8
The Benj
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Platform Zero, Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Can you stack linked damage against DR?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anders View Post
You need to also specify in what order they penetrate. It gets ugly.
Exactly. Much better to make one a Follow-Up, Link them or just set one kind of damage.
Perhaps a better question would be whether there's an Enhancement (in the style of Extra Blunt Trauma or Incendiary ) that will add the DR destroying nature of Corrosive to your Cutting damage. I can't recall if there is.

Last edited by The Benj; 12-11-2014 at 04:23 PM. Reason: Clarity as to what I was responding to.
The Benj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 02:38 PM   #9
Angle
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default Re: Can you stack linked damage against DR?

Doesn't follow up do this RAW?

Okay, so only says that if the carrier penetrates, then DR has no effect, but doesn't specify what happens if the carrier effect penetrates halfway. I don't think it's unreasonable to read it the way you want, though. At most, I'd apply an extra 20% enhancement and call it a day.
Angle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2014, 03:21 PM   #10
Ulzgoroth
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default Re: Can you stack linked damage against DR?

Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Ryujin View Post
Basically because I wanted the corrosive effect to be cumulative with the cutting/impaling damage, think like a plasma cutter effect.
I can't 'think like a plasma cutter effect', I really have no idea what you think that would be. If you can say what exactly you want the outcome to be maybe we can talk about how to make it happen, but so far it remains unspecified.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angle View Post
Doesn't follow up do this RAW?

Okay, so only says that if the carrier penetrates, then DR has no effect, but doesn't specify what happens if the carrier effect penetrates halfway. I don't think it's unreasonable to read it the way you want, though. At most, I'd apply an extra 20% enhancement and call it a day.
No, that's not how rules work. If the rule specifies exceptional handling for one case but not for others, that doesn't mean that you should have it do some arbitrary thing you made up in all the other cases, it means that in the other cases it follows the regular rule. In the event that the carrier attack hits but does not penetrate, the follow-up also hits but interacts with the target's DR normally.
__________________
I don't know any 3e, so there is no chance that I am talking about 3e rules by accident.
Ulzgoroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
damage stacking, rules

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.