Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2012, 02:42 AM   #1
Hajeil Sounak
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default Transferral Potion + Friendship Potion resolution?

Here was the situation. I was tied at level 9 with a friend, kicked in a door and drew the Level 1 Maul Rat. I was easily beating it for the game winning kill. My friend played Transferral Potion and targeted herself so that she could be beating it and thus gain a level for the game winning kill. Her son then played Friendship Potion on the Maul Rat to deny her the level. My question is would she have been allowed to Loot the Room due to the Friendship Potion even though it was not her turn? I assumed the answer was no and then continued on with my turn and Looted the Room myself due to Transferral Potion.
__________________
Vae victis!
Hajeil Sounak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 02:58 AM   #2
Bampop
 
Bampop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Bay FL
Default Re: Transferral Potion + Friendship Potion resolution?

You were correct. She does not loot the room, as it is not technically her turn.
__________________
Andy Partridge
MiB #3282, Palm Bay, FL
Munchkin, Zombie/Cthulhu Dice, Burn in Hell!, Revolution!, Castellan, Chez Geek, OGRE DE, Chupacabra, Nanuk
mib3282@gmail.com
Bampop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 06:32 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Transferral Potion + Friendship Potion resolution?

I'd say cards trump rules, and I'd allow the Transferred player Loot The Room, then the player whose combat was stolen gets to Loot The Room. If I've said otherwise in the past, I think I might be changing my mind.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2012, 06:23 PM   #4
Trsevener
 
Trsevener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Indiana
Default Re: Transferral Potion + Friendship Potion resolution?

Should either player have been allowed to Loot The Room since, for however briefly, they did face a monster?

Oops, never mind. I just realized I was thinking of Looking For Trouble.

Go on about your business. Nothing to see here.
__________________
Ace Hunter - Megaforce: "It's all on the wheel. It all comes around."

Please check out my trade requests.

Indiana MIB available for demos and tournaments. Please check out my Facebook page to see what I am up to.

Last edited by Trsevener; 06-23-2012 at 06:28 PM.
Trsevener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 03:45 PM   #5
Kilomanjaro4
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Default Re: Transferral Potion + Friendship Potion resolution?

I would think about this like you would be playing a video game like a dungeon crawler. The person kicks down a door to start their turn (imagine playing a runescape or something and going through a door). Next they find a monster in that room and they fight it, but I use my transferral potion and now I become the player in the room and they are kicked out. Now someone uses the friendship potion and I get nothing it I'm still in the room and not the other player, so I would loot the room as I leave the room ending the other players turn.

TLDR: I'm in the room because of the transferral potion so I get to loot instead of the person whose turn it was initially.
Kilomanjaro4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 06:49 PM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Transferral Potion + Friendship Potion resolution?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilomanjaro4 View Post
TLDR: I'm in the room because of the transferral potion so I get to loot instead of the person whose turn it was initially.
Nope. If the monsters are dismissed from the fight, the original player resumes their turn at that point. Transferral Potion transfers the combat, not the entire rest of the turn - and, while Friendship Potion does explicitly say the player fighting may Loot The Room, it doesn't take into account the case where the player who is fighting is not actually the player whose turn it is, and IMO the intent of Transferral Potion is clear: as soon as the combat ends, the turn reverts to the current player.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.