Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2018, 12:20 PM   #1
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Two big rule changes, effective immediately

These won't be reflected in the reprints coming up later this year, because we decided on these changes after those went to print, but we will start incorporating them into reprints moving forward.
  1. Players may not be forced to help someone else in a combat that is for the win. If a player is forced to help someone in a combat and it later becomes a combat for the win, the helper is kicked out of the fight without penalty. This rule does not apply to voluntary helpers, who should have thought harder about what they were getting into. It also does not apply in the situation where the helper could win the game (Elves, mostly, but other cards can set up this situation); be careful when you choose a helper!
  2. Cards that automatically kill monsters end combat immediately if there are no other monsters present.

There are also two cards that require revision in light of that second rule:

Death-Touch (from Munchkin Fu): At the end of this card, add "You do not get any rewards for that monster unless you defeat all remaining monsters."

Churninator (from Munchkin Cthulhu): Add "unless this would give you the winning level" at the end of the first sentence.

These are official errata already up on their respective errata pages.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 01:45 PM   #2
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Two big rule changes, effective immediately

I thought Rule 1 was already a rule.

Does Rule 2 eliminate the possibility of adding a Monster via Wandering Monster in response to all Monsters in the combat being eliminated by other cards? That would sure simplify things.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 01:58 PM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Two big rule changes, effective immediately

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Ed View Post
I thought Rule 1 was already a rule.
A lot of cards say that, but it hasn't been a global rule. Now it is.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mister Ed View Post
Does Rule 2 eliminate the possibility of adding a Monster via Wandering Monster in response to all Monsters in the combat being eliminated by other cards? That would sure simplify things.
That was one of the major reasons for this rule -- there are several annoying corner cases in the FAQ that are eliminated entirely by this change.

It does make for some insta-win situations (although I think the errata above nerf the most obnoxious possibilities) but they all require the player to have exactly the right card at the right time. I agreed with Steve that discouraging clever card combos goes against the Munchkin spirit.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 11:47 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Two big rule changes, effective immediately

So, not to muddy the waters too much, but by using the word "kill," this sounds like this doesn't affect a Wizard's charm spell, or similar defeat-but-not-kill effects like Pollymorph Potion. Am I reading that correctly, or does the new rule need to be even more clear?
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2018, 02:46 PM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Two big rule changes, effective immediately

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
So, not to muddy the waters too much, but by using the word "kill," this sounds like this doesn't affect a Wizard's charm spell, or similar defeat-but-not-kill effects like Pollymorph Potion. Am I reading that correctly, or does the new rule need to be even more clear?
That needs to be clarified. Good catch.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2018, 01:48 PM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Two big rule changes, effective immediately

Revised Rule #2: If all monsters are removed from a combat, the combat ends immediately.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2018, 01:13 AM   #7
Moldon
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St-Petersburg, Russia
Default Re: Two big rule changes, effective immediately

Is not Death-Touch is from Monky Business and Churninator is from Call of Cowthulhu expansions? Why in FAQ they are in core sets?
__________________
I'm Russian munchkinolog. Sorry for my English.
Moldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2018, 06:30 AM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Two big rule changes, effective immediately

Quote:
Originally Posted by Moldon View Post
Is not Death-Touch is from Monky Business and Churninator is from Call of Cowthulhu expansions? Why in FAQ they are in core sets?
Probably an editing error on my part. We'll get that fixed when we're back from Gen Con.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 04:31 PM   #9
Grej
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Default Re: Two big rule changes, effective immediately

About Rule 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
A lot of cards say that, but it hasn't been a global rule. Now it is.
On the Kneepads of Allure is written this rule. But new rules in this thread says:

Quote:
It also does not apply in the situation where the helper could win the game

So, can I force with Kneepads an Elf level 9 (when I'm at level 8, for example) to help in combat vs big monster to win the game together? Or text on the card still actual now "as is" and prevents me to force Elves with level 9 to help me?
Grej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 05:19 PM   #10
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Two big rule changes, effective immediately

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grej View Post
So, can I force with Kneepads an Elf level 9 (when I'm at level 8, for example) to help in combat vs big monster to win the game together? Or text on the card still actual now "as is" and prevents me to force Elves with level 9 to help me?
You cannot use the Kneepads of Allure to win the game because it's written on the card.

Even if it weren't, you cannot compel someone else to help you win the game because that's what the rule above says. It doesn't matter whether they would also win. The helper exception means that if a helper can win the game because a fight gets bigger (for instance, a Level 8 Elf suddenly faces two monsters), that's the chance you took when you asked that player for help.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.