Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Old 11-26-2018, 04:48 AM   #1
XRaysVision

Default I New - help me understand wizards

I'm new to TFT. I had an opportunity to play Melee and Wizard over the Veteran's Day weekend. I love Melee. Wizard--not so much. It seemed to me that wizards are weak and fragile. Doing anything "magical" just left them as empty husks in no time and they are prohibited from using any mundane weapons or armor. Decidedly un-fun.

Was I doing something wrong? Granted, I could have insanely over-power my character, but that's no fun. How does a beginning wizard live long enough to gather any experience?

In a mixed party, won't the wizard just die first?

Obviously, people are having big fun with TFT, so I must be doing something wrong.

Any help would be appreciated.
XRaysVision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 07:33 AM   #2
hcobb

Default Re: I New - help me understand wizards

TFT isn't just Melee+Wizard. It's a roleplaying game, which means it is a storytelling game. The party wizard brings a lot of story hooks that can be used, or ignored.

The greatest advantage that a wizard has is guild membership, and this doesn't have to be the wizard's guild. That's because the second greatest thing about being a wizard is the power of specialization.

If your main guild is the wizard's guild then you're a tower kid and have at least passing acquaintance with the great wizards of the area. (Literacy, Aid and Dectect Magic spells, etc.)

If your most used membership card is the Mercenaries guild then it is a ticket to adventure. You've got a window into the military planning of the area. Take Staff and several combat skills.

Or if you're a member of the Thieves Guild take the Silent Movement talent or spell, Streetwise and Lock/Knock.