Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 10-25-2018, 03:54 AM   #1
Luke Bunyip

Default [AtE] Black Powder vs Smokeless

I'm not after specifics on the production of either, but given I have no personal knowledge on the subject, I'm curious as to the order of magnitude of difficulty to make the later instead of the less optimal former. Is it technology limited, or the inclusion of additional substances?

Presume a relatively (setting wise) large population, with enough food and a secure interior, with access to limited intercontinental trade via sailing vessels.
Old 10-25-2018, 04:43 AM   #2
Polydamas

Default Re: [AtE] Black Powder vs Smokeless

There is a Pyramid article on this, but basically peasants make themselves enough black powder for hunting (there are Americans in the Apalatians who survived the Depression that way), smokeless powder requires a whole chemical industry with 1900-ish technology.

Remember that AtE is set in the wasteland not civilization (if such exists). In historical terms, its a 17th century game set among the Seven Nations or in Germany not in Mexico City or Paris, even if you hear tales of people who don't have to worry about being raped and murdered by the light of everything they own going up in flames.

This forum got less aggravating when I started using the ignore feature
Polydamas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 04:46 AM   #3
Luke Bunyip

Quote:
Originally Posted by Polydamas View Post
There is a Pyramid article on this...
Which one?
Old 10-25-2018, 04:47 AM   #4
Polydamas

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke Bunyip View Post
Which one?
Search the archives for S.A. Fisher and After the End.

This forum got less aggravating when I started using the ignore feature
Polydamas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2018, 04:47 AM   #5