Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2019, 12:04 PM   #1
ThrowbackSoul
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Default Rick & Morty Munchkin: Trap vs. Effect of Trap

Greetings Fellow Munchkin Enthusiasts,
I recently purchased the above noted iteration of the game and have become a big fan, hoping to expand the collection to the other sets over time and to be able to grow support as I host games myself.

I ran a game last night where the Bad Stuff result from a monster was to suffer the effects of the top 2 Trap cards in the discard pile. One of the players had a "Cancel a Trap" card in hand and attempted to use it, however I deemed that the "Effect" of a Trap is not itself a "Trap" to be canceled and as such was something the player had to suffer. Was this interpretation a valid one given the way I've worded things, or should the player have been allowed to use that card in that scenario?
ThrowbackSoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2019, 04:22 AM   #2
Fufu
 
Fufu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: "Made in Hong Kong"
Default Re: Rick & Morty Munchkin: Trap vs. Effect of Trap

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThrowbackSoul View Post
[...]
I ran a game last night where the Bad Stuff result from a monster was to suffer the effects of the top 2 Trap cards in the discard pile. One of the players had a "Cancel a Trap" card in hand and attempted to use it, however I deemed that the "Effect" of a Trap is not itself a "Trap" to be canceled and as such was something the player had to suffer. Was this interpretation a valid one given the way I've worded things, or should the player have been allowed to use that card in that scenario?
My interpretation would be suffering the Bad Stuff, then "Cancel a Trap" once each of the Traps take effect. They cannot cancel the Bad Stuff or both traps, but the one trap once the card is In Play.
Fufu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2019, 09:58 AM   #3
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Rick & Morty Munchkin: Trap vs. Effect of Trap

I can't immediately find an instance where we've allowed the effects of a Trap or Curse as caused by Bad Stuff get canceled by a Trap/Curse canceling card. I'll keep searching, but assume no follow up means I'm remembering correctly. (There are too many years of Munchkin to keep straight in my head anymore, I swear. . .)
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2019, 10:55 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Rick & Morty Munchkin: Trap vs. Effect of Trap

If the wording is "You are hit by the top Trap in the discard pile," you could cancel it because the Trap itself is hitting you. If the wording is "Suffer the effect of the top Trap in the discard pile," then you can't cancel it because it's just the effect, not the Trap itself.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.