Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-20-2011, 03:25 AM   #1
Rtrain
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montclair, CA
Default Can ships in Star Munchkin be swapped out?

Ships are items, that are Big, but do not count against your limit of one Big item. You may only have one in play at a time barring a card ability (Otto or Salvage).

Can I swap out one ship for another and "carry" a ship? Since it is Big but doesn't count toward my limit. Can I switch it out for another and have it in front of me turned sideways?

Also can I take away ship enhancers from one ship and play them on another ship?

I had one ship with 3 enhancers on it. I drew another useful ship on my "Loot the room" phase. I then played it out in front of me sideways, sold it with a few other items I was also carrying for a level, and used "Salvage" to take it back put it into play.(Mad Skills) Worried to have such a huge bonus tied to one ship I took the "Improbable infinity Engine" off the un-salvaged ship and played it onto my new ship.

Is that legal?

Also can I take off "lasers" from my stacked "laser" and barter with or sell them? Are they permanently attached after being combined?
Rtrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 07:58 AM   #2
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Can ships in Star Munchkin be swapped out?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rtrain View Post
Ships are items, that are Big, but do not count against your limit of one Big item. You may only have one in play at a time barring a card ability (Otto or Salvage).

Can I swap out one ship for another and "carry" a ship? Since it is Big but doesn't count toward my limit. Can I switch it out for another and have it in front of me turned sideways?
The rules concerning Ships state that you may have only one in play, so regardless of whether they are Items or that they are Big Items where their Big status doesn't count, you can't just keep extra Ships that you are not using lying around in play. You are also mis-using the term carry. All Items you have in play are carried, whether you are using (i.e., getting a bonus or special abilty from) them or not. The rules do not say that you can use only one ship, they say you can only have, or carry, one.

Quote:
Also can I take away ship enhancers from one ship and play them on another ship?
No. The rules cover this explicitly: "Enhancers cannot be moved between Ships."

Quote:
I had one ship with 3 enhancers on it. I drew another useful ship on my "Loot the room" phase. I then played it out in front of me sideways, sold it with a few other items I was also carrying for a level, and used "Salvage" to take it back put it into play.(Mad Skills) Worried to have such a huge bonus tied to one ship I took the "Improbable infinity Engine" off the un-salvaged ship and played it onto my new ship.

Is that legal?
No. You couldn't play the second Ship the first time, and you couldn't move the Enhancers when you did play it legally (with Salvage). Things to note: You can sell Items from your hand, so you did not have to put the second Ship into play (which was illegal) to sell it.

Quote:
Also can I take off "lasers" from my stacked "laser" and barter with or sell them? Are they permanently attached after being combined?
Though combined to make a single weapon (which has no concise game definition), -asers are still individual Items. This means the entire -aser array can be dismantled to be sold or traded in pieces, and can't be stolen or destroyed by a Trap or Bad Stuff in one piece.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 02:00 PM   #3
Rtrain
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Montclair, CA
Default Re: Can ships in Star Munchkin be swapped out?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
The rules concerning Ships state that you may have only one in play, so regardless of whether they are Items or that they are Big Items where their Big status doesn't count, you can't just keep extra Ships that you are not using lying around in play. You are also mis-using the term carry. All Items you have in play are carried, whether you are using (i.e., getting a bonus or special abilty from) them or not. The rules do not say that you can use only one ship, they say you can only have, or carry, one.



No. The rules cover this explicitly: "Enhancers cannot be moved between Ships."



No. You couldn't play the second Ship the first time, and you couldn't move the Enhancers when you did play it legally (with Salvage). Things to note: You can sell Items from your hand, so you did not have to put the second Ship into play (which was illegal) to sell it.



Though combined to make a single weapon (which has no concise game definition), -asers are still individual Items. This means the entire -aser array can be dismantled to be sold or traded in pieces, and can't be stolen or destroyed by a Trap or Bad Stuff in one piece.
Thanks much for the clarification.
Rtrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 10:37 AM   #4
Iceman_B
 
Iceman_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Netherlands
Default Re: Can ships in Star Munchkin be swapped out?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
Though combined to make a single weapon (which has no concise game definition), -asers are still individual Items. This means the entire -aser array can be dismantled to be sold or traded in pieces, and can't be stolen or destroyed by a Trap or Bad Stuff in one piece.
Wait, so then what does the "combining" mean? At what point are the -aser weapons combined to go into one hand(or two) and when are they not?
I thought that once combined, they turn into whatever the card states.

And if a curse/trap takes out a single item, then that entire combined cluster goes. Or can I split up a combines -aser weapon just as it is hit with a curse/trap to prevent it from going?

It's kinda confusing.
Edit: maybe this should be split off into a seperate "-aser weapon combination question" thread
Iceman_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2012, 03:05 PM   #5
Clipper
 
Clipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Default Re: Can ships in Star Munchkin be swapped out?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceman_B View Post
Wait, so then what does the "combining" mean? At what point are the -aser weapons combined to go into one hand(or two) and when are they not?
I thought that once combined, they turn into whatever the card states.

And if a curse/trap takes out a single item, then that entire combined cluster goes. Or can I split up a combines -aser weapon just as it is hit with a curse/trap to prevent it from going?

It's kinda confusing.
Edit: maybe this should be split off into a seperate "-aser weapon combination question" thread
The combining is the fact that they are one weapon. That weapon just happens to be made up of multiple cards, each of which is an Item. Perhaps think of every -aser Item as having a special holder that can only hold one -aser Item. Thus you only need one Hand to hold the whole thing, but each component is still a separate Item.

As they are multiple Items, the curse or trap only takes out one component. The FAQ has some stuff about this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by FAQ
Q. Are there any limits on when you can remove individual -aser cards? In particular, if you have a great big -aser weapon, can someone Antimatter the whole thing?
A. No, you can unequip, sell, or discard individual cards any time you need to (subject to the usual discard rules, of course). And, in particular, Antimatter says "one Item." The rules say that each card in the -aser weapon is a separate Item.
Clipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rules clarification, ships, star munchkin

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.