Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-20-2019, 03:32 PM   #31
xane
 
xane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: London, UK
Default Re: Safely Approaching Pole Weapons

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikMod View Post
Erm, I don't see how moving as slowly as humanly possible (1 hex) could ever be interpreted as a 'charge' attack!?
Depends.

Skirting around the hex (around 5' away) but not attacking would not result in a defending polearm bonus, because it is not an attack (this is disputed in another thread), whereas actually closing ground rapidly to attack, is not "moving slowly", and is going to risk getting painfully skewered before you get there.

You don't just nonchalantly saunter up to someone and whack them with a sword.
xane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2019, 05:59 PM   #32
MikMod
 
Join Date: May 2019
Default Re: Safely Approaching Pole Weapons

Quote:
Originally Posted by xane View Post
Depends.

Skirting around the hex (around 5' away) but not attacking would not result in a defending polearm bonus, because it is not an attack (this is disputed in another thread), whereas actually closing ground rapidly to attack, is not "moving slowly", and is going to risk getting painfully skewered before you get there.

You don't just nonchalantly saunter up to someone and whack them with a sword.
Well, it seems to me that moving the absolute minimum of 1 hex is not 'closing ground rapidly' by definition. That's why you have to have moved enough to count as 'charging', that is, 3 hexes.

In fact, it's running up to a pole-user that you DONT do, because throwing yourself onto a big spike hurts more than a cautious approach. Surely that's just common sense?

Also, as per my examples, there is a downside to avoiding the 'receive charge' additional damage, via a slow approach, and that is that the pole user gets to hit you twice before you can attack them. So I wouldn't characterize that as 'sauntering'.

Last edited by MikMod; 07-20-2019 at 06:03 PM.
MikMod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.