Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin Collectible Card Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2018, 08:48 PM   #1
Hobbit Feet
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Default Inhumane society question

It is my understanding that this card, when zapped, will reduce the cost of monster cards by 1 for the duration of that turn, no matter how many monsters that you play. Is this correct?

Last edited by Hobbit Feet; 04-05-2018 at 09:20 PM.
Hobbit Feet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 06:11 AM   #2
Trapt888
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Default Re: Inhumane society question

It's a location. It comes in zapped but starting on your next turn when you unzap it, it permanently decreases the cost of monsters by one coin for both players. Or until somebody squishes it anyway. You don't ever need to zap the card after the playing it zapped.
Trapt888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 06:25 AM   #3
ClassicFrog
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Default Re: Inhumane society question

Cards with a passive effect like Inhumane society are active the moment they are played, whether zapped or not.

The fact it comes in to play zapped is so that you can't play it, get its benefit on your turn then squash it at the end of your turn to deny your opponent a turn with its effect. (don't forget to replace a location or item you need to be able to zap it)
ClassicFrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 09:21 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Inhumane society question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClassicFrog View Post
Cards with a passive effect like Inhumane society are active the moment they are played, whether zapped or not.
This is mostly correct (and is one of the rules that continues to trip me up, so don't feel bad for missing it, Trapt). If a card has an ability that doesn't require zapping to use, then you may use that ability even if the card is zapped, as long as you pay any other required cost (gold, taking damage, discarding, etc.).
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 09:33 AM   #5
Trapt888
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Default Re: Inhumane society question

Really? Pardon my ignorance. What's the purpose of it coming into play zapped then?
Trapt888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 09:58 AM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Inhumane society question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trapt888 View Post
Really? Pardon my ignorance. What's the purpose of it coming into play zapped then?
Exactly what ClassicFrog said:

Quote:
Originally Posted by ClassicFrog View Post
The fact it comes in to play zapped is so that you can't play it, get its benefit on your turn then squash it at the end of your turn to deny your opponent a turn with its effect. (don't forget to replace a location or item you need to be able to zap it)
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 06:59 PM   #7
Hobbit Feet
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Default Re: Inhumane society question

Oh, well then this is actually better than I thought. However, I wasn't aware that both players gain its benefit. The land card actually says that both players gain from it but inhumane society does not. Thanks for the replies y'all.
Hobbit Feet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2018, 07:02 PM   #8
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Inhumane society question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobbit Feet View Post
Oh, well then this is actually better than I thought. However, I wasn't aware that both players gain its benefit. The land card actually says that both players gain from it but inhumane society does not. Thanks for the replies y'all.
Locations are always active for both players. Some abilities specifically say "the active Hero" or something like that, but both players can still use those abilities when they are the active Hero.
__________________
Andrew Hackard || Munchkin Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games

Twitter: @SJGames || Facebook: SJ Games and Munchkin || Medium: @SJGames
Instagram: @stevejacksongames || YouTube: Steve Jackson Games

New Munchkin player? Visit our Munchkin 101 forum!
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.