Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2020, 09:30 AM   #1
Grej
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Moscow, Russia
Default Munchkin Side-Quest question

If I achieve a condition to reveal the Quest, must I reveal this Quest, or I can keep it for better time?

(for examle, I have Quest "Double Tap", and complete it at 2nd level, but I want to keep card to 9th Level, so, I don't want reveal it now. Can I do this?)

Last edited by Grej; 07-19-2020 at 12:17 PM.
Grej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 12:27 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Munchkin Side-Quest question

If you fail to claim a Side Quest when you are able to do so, you can't go back later and say that you "forgot" to claim something -- you have to wait until the next you actually can claim it to get the reward.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 12:35 PM   #3
Grej
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Moscow, Russia
Default Re: Munchkin Side-Quest question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
If you fail to claim a Side Quest when you are able to do so, you can't go back later and say that you "forgot" to claim something -- you have to wait until the next you actually can claim it to get the reward.
OK, I see. But can I purposely fail to claim it, and wait a time when reward can let me win game. Or i must claim it, even if I don't want to do it now?

"Double Tap" quest is more useful on 8th level, then on 1st, so if I defeat monster with 2 enhancers on my 1st level, can I refuse to reveal quest right now and keep card "double Tap" for next time?

Last edited by Grej; 07-19-2020 at 12:40 PM.
Grej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 12:37 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Munchkin Side-Quest question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grej View Post
OK, I see. But can I purposely fail to claim it, and wait a time when reward can let me win game. Or i must claim it, even if I don't want to do it now?
You are never required to claim a Side Quest you don't want at that moment, but that means you forgo your chance to claim up until you meet the conditions for claiming it again.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 12:41 PM   #5
Grej
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Moscow, Russia
Default Re: Munchkin Side-Quest question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
You are never required to claim a Side Quest you don't want at that moment, but that means you forgo your chance to claim up until you meet the conditions for claiming it again.
Thank you!
Grej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 12:42 PM   #6
Grej
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Moscow, Russia
Default Re: Munchkin Side-Quest question

Another question about "Double Tap" quest.

Card says that I can forgo all treasures to get extra level.
What if monster have no treasures? Can i get extra-level?
Grej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2020, 12:44 PM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Munchkin Side-Quest question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grej View Post
Another question about "Double Tap" quest.

Card says that I can forgo all treasures to get extra level.
What if monster have no treasures? Can i get extra-level?
If there are no Treasures to forgo, Double Tab cannot be played.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 11:57 AM   #8
Grej
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Moscow, Russia
Default Re: Munchkin Side-Quest question

And one more question.

Double Tap quest requires killing monster with 2 enhancers. Can it be cards "-5 to monster"? By the rules they count as enhancers, but they reduce monster power and make the quest simple to complete
Grej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 12:38 PM   #9
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Munchkin Side-Quest question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grej View Post
And one more question.

Double Tap quest requires killing monster with 2 enhancers. Can it be cards "-5 to monster"? By the rules they count as enhancers, but they reduce monster power and make the quest simple to complete
You have found one of the hidden little EASIER rules in the set. It absolutely can be a "negative" enhancer.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.