Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2020, 02:02 AM   #1
HobbsGoblin
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Default Questions on Munchkin Pathfinder

Hello, I've been playing for awhile but went back into the rules and have a couple of questions I have not seen answers to previously. I own Munchkin Pathfinder with a few expansions , , we love the game it is our go to.
The main one is this, if you are playing with a total of three people and player one is in combat with the other two attempting to stop her.
Player two has a wondering monster card but no monster, player three has a monster, so can they lay them down separately to add a monster to the fight?

Second Question, if I have Double Life but only one faction and equip the two, is the double life card now glued to that faction card, or may I add another faction to it when I get one and then have both the disadvantages and advantages of both?
For that matter could I swap out the faction and keep the double life?

Third Question
If I have a class that allows me to equip a certain weapon but decide in combat to ditch that class, are the weapons tied to that class now unequipped in that combat as well?

Fourth Question
Hirelings, they can only carry one item right? The wording on the card says that it could be an item that I usually couldn't carry, does that include a usable by hellknight only weapon even if I am not a hellknight?

Fifth Question
If there is a level 2 monster and someone places a negative 5 to monster on it (like plague stricken). Does that end that combat (assuming he was the only monster)?
Also does this Kill or merely defeat the monster?

Sixth question
On that note, if it does kill the monster because his health went negative does that mean you could quick draw that card on yourself to win by "killing" the monster before other players can change it?

Question Seven
So my friend kicked down the door to a low level monster, I then play the card "+5 to monster OR Goblinizes it", I choose to Goblinize it, however before I lay down my second card the Goblin, he lays down Gobstoppped which stops anyone from laying down a goblin by using the Goblin rule.
Is that legal even though I was obviously in the middle of a laydown?

Question Eight
Like monsters attract like monsters, goblins golions, undead undead and dragons dragons.
The Treerazor monster does not have the subtitle of Dragon, but it is obviously a dragon. Should we still be able to lay it down on other dragons without a wandering Monster card?

Question 9
Combat, two monsters involved, a +5 to monster is played, the player in combat dismisses a monster but first asks which monster the +5 is on. Here is my question, does the dismissal also dismiss the +5 to monster, is the +5 ties to a specific monster or just the monsters side and so when a dismissal happens the +5 remains in play?


Sorry if any of these a spelled out in the rules, I have read through them a few times and can infer the answer specifically to my last question but having a definite answer helps alot.
Thank you so much for taking the time to read and respond!
HobbsGoblin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2020, 03:53 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Questions on Munchkin Pathfinder

Quote:
Originally Posted by HobbsGoblin View Post
if I have Double Life but only one faction and equip the two, is the double life card now glued to that faction card, or may I add another faction to it when I get one and then have both the disadvantages and advantages of both?
For that matter could I swap out the faction and keep the double life?
You may add a second Faction to Double Life if you wish. You may then discard the first Faction if you wish. As long as you have at least one Faction, Double Life stays in play.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HobbsGoblin View Post
If I have a class that allows me to equip a certain weapon but decide in combat to ditch that class, are the weapons tied to that class now unequipped in that combat as well?
Not until the end of the combat, but their bonuses no longer count. (If you want to turn them sideways immediately to remind yourself that the bonuses don't count, that's fine; just remember that you can't replace them until the fight is over.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HobbsGoblin View Post
Hirelings, they can only carry one item right? The wording on the card says that it could be an item that I usually couldn't carry, does that include a usable by hellknight only weapon even if I am not a hellknight?
Hirelings carry a maximum of one Item. It can be an Item you couldn't otherwise use, such as a Hellknight-only Item when you are not a Hellknight, a second Armor, or a second Big Item.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.