Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 07-15-2019, 12:08 PM   #1
awesomenessofme1

Default Question about vehicle stats in High-Tech

I was looking over the stats for WW1 planes in High-Tech. I've been building some characters for a 1920s setting and I want to give one of them a plane. But I'm wondering about what it would take to convert the stats of them to a civilian version. Primarily the price, but to a lesser extent the weight and possibly speed. Are the weapons counted as part of the planes or would they be counted separately? The flavor text says that a civilian version of the DH-4 was sold for as little as $3000 (about $30k in GURPS $s). Is that a reasonable price?

I can use any answers or advice you have.
awesomenessofme1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2019, 01:56 PM   #2
Anaraxes

Default Re: Question about vehicle stats in High-Tech

There were a great many surplus aircraft after the war, and the governments got rid of them when and how they could. Sometimes they just piled them up and set fire to them. There were a lot of surplus US JN-4s ("Jenny", cost about $5500) sold after the war, sometimes for as little as $50 when brand-new in the crate from the factory. So a surplus price of 10% of the purchase price isn't unreasonable.

Surplus aircraft wouldn't generally be sold with weapons, but weapons laws were different back in the day, and of course vary by country.

I assume the prices in HT are for the model as described, in this case with weapons. You could subtract the cost of the guns before figuring your surplus discount.