Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2019, 01:03 AM   #1
syphothegreat
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Default If I die fighting 4 monster do I fight the rest?

Hi guys,
Need clear something up as its not quite clear in the rule book and the GF and I are arguing about it haha

I fought a monster as usual 3 other monsters were added during the fight.

all cards were played and I could not defeat them all.

So In the process of running away from them all I thought this level 16 shark will kill me (DEAD) so ran away from that first hoping it would kill me and I would not suffer the effects from the other 3 remaining monsters to run away from.

It Killed me. Was I right to say turn after that?and not run away from the other 3

Thanks in advance new to game and some arguments are flaring up :)
syphothegreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 07:11 AM   #2
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: If I die fighting 4 monster do I fight the rest?

You were correct. Once you are Dead, you don't have to Run Away from any remaining Monsters. For this reason it is always a good idea to Run Away from Monsters that can kill you first.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 01:32 PM   #3
syphothegreat
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Default Re: If I die fighting 4 monster do I fight the rest?

Awesome thank you..the reason I wanted to Die also was I had a card that said I just had to discard my hand and nothing else would happen.Appreciate the reply
syphothegreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2019, 07:18 AM   #4
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: If I die fighting 4 monster do I fight the rest?

I'm not sure if that card would change the answer. If you are still dead, probably not, but if it keeps you from dying if you just discard your hand, so you are still alive, then you may still have to Run Away from the other monsters. I don't know the exact wording on the card (and you can't post it here), so it is probably best to wait for an official answer.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2019, 10:56 AM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: If I die fighting 4 monster do I fight the rest?

If you actually suffer Death, complete with looting the corpse and wailing mourners, then you don't have to Run Away from any other monsters. They don't chase dead people.

If you have a card that says you don't actually die when Death happens, then you're still around and kicking and the monsters will be very interested in chasing you. OTOH, if the card says you die but replaces the effects (such as "you keep your cards and return at the start of the next turn"), then you still did die and don't have to Run Away from everything else.

I can answer more completely if you have a specific card or group of cards you're asking about.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.