Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2019, 01:33 PM   #1
Duck of Doom
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Default Discarding/Replacing Steeds

I assume Steeds (as Items in general) can't be discarded just because. In consequence, I believe you can't replace a Steed with another, right?

Nevertheless, I read this from the FAQs:

Quote:
Q. If I tame a monster, what happens to my old Steed?
A. Same thing that happens when you replace a Steed with a new regular Steed. Discard the old one.
From my understanding, it implies Steeds can be replaced. Maybe the answer should be changed to just "You must discard the old one"? In fact, it's what the rules say about the taming skill:

Quote:
Monster Tamer: In combat on your turn, you
may tame a single monster instead of fighting it. It
becomes your new Steed. To do so, you must discard
your old Steed, if any,
plus a number of cards equal to
the Treasures on the monsterís card. That number is
your new Steedís combat bonus. You may not trade a
monster Steed, give it away, or sell it for levels.
By the way, if you are allowed to have more than one Steed somehow (Cheat cards, Centaur Race...), do you have to discard your old Steed anyway to tame a Monster? All of them if you already have more than one Steed?
Duck of Doom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2019, 02:33 PM   #2
Duck of Doom
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Default Re: Discarding/Replacing Steeds

I found an old thread that discusses my first question, among other things... Users don't reach any firm conclusion... But maybe it helps to find an answer. The thread is here.
Duck of Doom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2019, 08:05 AM   #3
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Discarding/Replacing Steeds

I have updated that FAQ to remove the first sentence. I added a following question about how to deal with a Steed you no longer want (or cannot legally use).
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 11:17 AM   #4
Nobunga
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: College Park, Maryland
Default Re: Discarding/Replacing Steeds

Quote:
Q. If I tame a monster, what happens to my old Steed? What if I somehow have multiple Steeds?
A. Discard the old one(s). The tamed Steed replaces all Steeds you might have had previously.
So a Centuar Ranger may only have one tamed steed or unlimited proper steeds, but never a tamed steed AND one or more proper steeds?
Nobunga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 01:00 PM   #5
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Discarding/Replacing Steeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nobunga View Post
So a Centuar Ranger may only have one tamed steed or unlimited proper steeds, but never a tamed steed AND one or more proper steeds?
The Centaur Ranger must discard all previously obtained Steeds when it tames one, but it may then add more regular Steeds after.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2019, 04:35 PM   #6
Duck of Doom
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Default Re: Discarding/Replacing Steeds

From my understanding, these two answers contradict each other:

Quote:
Q. If I decide not to use a Steed, can I unequip it by turning the card sideways?
A. Steeds cannot be carried. If you cannot legally use a Steed for some reason, you must find a legal way to get rid of it (e.g., trading it to another player, selling it for a level, Cursing yourself to lose a Steed) or you're stuck riding a Steed that gives you no benefits.
Quote:
Q. The rules say I can only have one Steed (Vehicle, Ship) unless I have a card that says otherwise. Can I unequip one Steed to play another?
A. Steeds (Vehicles, Ships) cannot be unequipped at all and certainly not to play another one. If you can't use your Steed for some reason, you must get rid of it as an extra Big item. (If, somehow, you find yourself with a Steed [etc.] that you can't use but can't get rid of, it does count against your Big item total; you only get to ignore a Steed's Bigness when you're actually riding it.)
From the first answer I infer that I can keep my Steed if I lose the ability to use it (it gives me no benefits though). I'm allowed to get rid of it if I want and I can provide a legal way to do it.

From the first part of the second answer I deduce that I MUST get rid of Steeds I cannot use (using the extra Big item rules). The second part (between parentheses) kind of contradicts the first part as it talks about a scenario where I can't get rid of the Steed. How is it possible if I must get rid of it following the extra Big item rules?

Could you give me some insight?

Last edited by Duck of Doom; 11-19-2019 at 04:43 PM.
Duck of Doom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 08:47 AM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Discarding/Replacing Steeds

I'll look at this more closely when I have a couple of free minutes, probably next week. Thanks for your patience.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.