Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2016, 12:19 PM   #1
Mikal300
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Default Wizard Charm Spell / Necromancer Reanimation

Player A is a wizard and is in combat fighting two monsters. He chooses to charm a single monster, which states it is discarded and you take its treasure. Player B is a Necromancer and would like to use the Reanimation to add the top monster from the discard pile to the fight. Is the monster that was charmed by player A considered to be on the top of the discard pile or is the charmed monster not considered to be on the discard pile until the combat is over?

Also, is the treasure to be collected immediately after the monster is charmed by Player A or do they have to wait until the combat is over? If they are collected immediately, can they be played immediately?

Thanks for the help.
Mikal300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2016, 03:49 AM   #2
cosmowove
 
cosmowove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Default Re: Wizard Charm Spell / Necromancer Reanimation

Monsters are only officially sent to the discard pile after the combat has ended.
cosmowove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2016, 07:48 PM   #3
Coin Flip 42
 
Coin Flip 42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South of Canada, eh.
Default Re: Wizard Charm Spell / Necromancer Reanimation

If there is only one monster in the combat, then you collect the treasure as soon as you cast the charm.

If there is more than one monster in the combat, you collect the treasure from the charmed monster after all the rest of the monsters are defeated.
Coin Flip 42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 09:29 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
Super Moderator
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Wizard Charm Spell / Necromancer Reanimation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coin Flip 42 View Post
If there is only one monster in the combat, then you collect the treasure as soon as you cast the charm.
Not quite. You are effectively winning the combat by doing that, and therefore must allow the other players time to stop you. This can include one or more of them playing Wandering Monster and a Monster to continue the combat. Only once everyone's agreed that they won't stop you from winning with the charm spell can you take the Treasure.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2016, 09:31 AM   #5
Mr_Draco
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default Re: Wizard Charm Spell / Necromancer Reanimation

Monsters are not discarded until the end of combat. In this scenario, Player B would take the current top monster card and add it to the combat. After the combat, both monsters would then be discarded. Treasures would not be gained until after the new monster is defeated.
Mr_Draco is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2016, 02:00 PM   #6
Coin Flip 42
 
Coin Flip 42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South of Canada, eh.
Default Re: Wizard Charm Spell / Necromancer Reanimation

I should have worded that "as soon as you successfully cast the charm." :-)
Coin Flip 42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charm spell, discard pile, necromancer, reanimation, wizard

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.