Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 07-01-2009, 05:39 AM   #1
Max Schreck

Default [HIGH-TECH]Recoil for submachine guns and machine pistols

Recently I just skimmed some of the weapons tables in GURPS High-Tech, and I noticed something for the first time that struck me as rather odd. All submachine guns have the same recoil, namely 2.

I am no weapons expert, and I have only fired a few firearms in my life, but it seems somehow wrong to me that e.g. a M1921 .45 ACP or a MAC-10 .45 should have the same recoil as a FN P90 or a MP5 or whatever; mind you, I have never fired any of these weapons in my life, but when I've seen real life footage of these guns fired on full auto, it seemed to me that there was significantly more recoil with the Thompson than with a P90 (or many other SMGs for that matter).

Furthermore, looking at the pistols, one kan see that a M1911 .45 ACP has more recoil than a 9mm Browning Hi-Power. And yet a .45 calibre SMG has no more recoil than a 9mm SMG. There was a difference in the Basic Set, but now no more.

So, am I just wrong, and SMGs have no appreciable difference in recoil or is this legitimate errata? What gives?

Cheers,

Max
Old 07-01-2009, 05:54 AM   #2
Icelander

Default Re: [HIGH-TECH]Recoil for submachine guns and machine pistols

Certainly there are differences in felt recoil between various submachine guns, but those differences are below the granularity level of GURPS. The ST stat for the weapons, however, is affected by felt recoil as well as weight.

The reason that large bore pistols have a higher Rcl stat than submachine guns of the same calibre is that the pistols are much lighter. They lack enough mass to act as a counterweight. The SMGs, however, are more than heavy enough to be stable when firing what is, after all, a pistol cartridge.