Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Old 05-09-2018, 05:00 AM   #1
Jim Kane
Banned

Default Is It Just ME..??? LONG RANT

Is it just me, or does it go right up anyone else's Bee's Nest when some self-described "TFT-expert" comes out with a YouTube review and can only seem to describe why TFT is unique and special by repeatedly describing the game as "very simple" and "not very detailed"?... and then proceeds to mis-name the TFT attributes using the terms: "INT" for IQ, and "Skills" for Talents.

D'OH!!

And then goes on with verbiage littered with AD&D jargon(?).

Oh boy.

While it is true that we have a 3 Attribute System as the core, saying TFT is: "a simple game and not the most detailed", is like saying because it only has 6 different pieces... "You see, I am an life-long expert in Chest [sic]... it is a simple game and not very detailed, and uses pieces called: the horsey, the little castle, and the tiny bowling pins..."

I guess by that "X-purt" reasoning, the Japanese game of: GO is even simpler - Heck, it only has 1 type of playing-piece.

We have some incredibly bright, articulate, and knowledgeable people on this board, bashing their brains out (and sometimes each others) in trying to unlock the keys-of-perfection to this "simple and not very detailed game". I read with great interest and recognize all the hard work and deep thought everyone puts into making this great thing better - and even in cases where I wholly disagree with a fellow member - I have to acknowledge, and cannot deny, the stellar level of life-long TFT Expertise and Knowledge (not "claimed knowledge" backed with blatant misnomers and D&D-speak running amok) that we share with each other here on the forum.