Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Ogre and G.E.V. > Ogre Video Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-24-2017, 09:06 AM   #1
shantke
 
Join Date: May 2008
Default Antipersonnel

Is it just me as I am old distracted and forgetful, but has anyone else noticed that sometimes the game lets you fire all your AP guns and sometimes it tells you all weapons have fired and you could have sworn there were some more left to fire?

I was playing a OGRE Mark V attack scenario last night and had a squad of three inf in one hex and another three squad inf in a different hex. I targeted 3 AP at one squad for a 1:1 and missed, then targeted the other squad with 3 AP for another 1:1 and missed again. Then the message about no more weapons to fire came up and my turn was over. Um.. shouldn't I have 6 more AP to fire????

Next turn, I took out most of the nearby inf with secondaries as there was no more armor units and the lone 3/1 Squad I used my 12 AP to get a 4:1 Attack which destroyer the INF.

So either I am losing my marbles, or there is a glitch.
shantke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 09:25 AM   #2
offsides
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Cheltenham, PA
Default Re: Antipersonnel

Quote:
Originally Posted by shantke View Post
Is it just me as I am old distracted and forgetful, but has anyone else noticed that sometimes the game lets you fire all your AP guns and sometimes it tells you all weapons have fired and you could have sworn there were some more left to fire?

I was playing a OGRE Mark V attack scenario last night and had a squad of three inf in one hex and another three squad inf in a different hex. I targeted 3 AP at one squad for a 1:1 and missed, then targeted the other squad with 3 AP for another 1:1 and missed again. Then the message about no more weapons to fire came up and my turn was over. Um.. shouldn't I have 6 more AP to fire????

Next turn, I took out most of the nearby inf with secondaries as there was no more armor units and the lone 3/1 Squad I used my 12 AP to get a 4:1 Attack which destroyer the INF.

So either I am losing my marbles, or there is a glitch.
I can't remember if it was a rules change in ODE, or just a clarification, but an Ogre can only target any given grouping of INF once per turn/fire round with its AP weapons. So in your case, you fired at both available targets and had leftover AP with no valid targets. This prevents the AP from "munchkining" the INF down to nothing with D results.

There probably should be some sort of text indicating that AP can only fire on any given grouping of INF once per turn/fire round, just to avoid confusion like yours.
__________________
Joshua Megerman, SJGames MIB #5273 - Ogre AI Testing Division
offsides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 09:34 AM   #3
Mack_JB
 
Mack_JB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Default Re: Antipersonnel

Ditto-ing the above -- you can fire all your AP per turn, but each group of INF can only be targeted once per turn.

So in your case with two 3/1 INF to shoot at, you should have shot six AP at each 3/1.
Mack_JB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 01:05 PM   #4
shantke
 
Join Date: May 2008
Default Re: Antipersonnel

You guys are correct, the relevant rule # is 7.05.1, I wonder how long I have been playing it wrong.
shantke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2017, 01:07 PM   #5
sir_pudding
Wielder of Smart Pants
 
sir_pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ventura CA
Default Re: Antipersonnel

That is actually a rule that is easy to lose track of in a big game, which is one of the things that having the videogame handle is good for.
sir_pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2017, 08:57 PM   #6
dwalend
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default Re: Antipersonnel

Quote:
Originally Posted by shantke View Post
You guys are correct, the relevant rule # is 7.05.1, I wonder how long I have been playing it wrong.
I did that wrong for decades, too. I think GP set me straight during the ODE edits.

Two 1:1 attacks aren't that much better than one 2:1 attack. A secondary battery can be your second 1:1 attack if you need it. Would it change anything about how you play the game, other than combining some AP gun attacks that you wouldn't have before?
dwalend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 09:32 AM   #7
shantke
 
Join Date: May 2008
Default Re: Antipersonnel

I tend to use the secondaries and mains for armor only and the AP for INF.

If there are no armor units in range or if the INF is not in AP range I'll use the Main and secondaries on INF.

The change in tactics with the rules would be I'll have to attack small groups of infantry at higher odds rather than leave AP guns not fired.

In my head I always envisioned the OGRE AI as not only being intelligent but also programmed to be frugal, if the goal is to destroy the CP and the OGRE has an opportunity to ram or shoot it, I believe it would choose ram as shells cost money.
shantke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 01:55 PM   #8
ColBosch
 
ColBosch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Default Re: Antipersonnel

Quote:
Originally Posted by shantke View Post
In my head I always envisioned the OGRE AI as not only being intelligent but also programmed to be frugal, if the goal is to destroy the CP and the OGRE has an opportunity to ram or shoot it, I believe it would choose ram as shells cost money.
I always thought of it quite the opposite way. The classic "kill the command post" scenario is the ultimate in throwing money at a problem.
ColBosch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2017, 02:07 PM   #9
Ulzgoroth
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Default Re: Antipersonnel

Quote:
Originally Posted by shantke View Post
In my head I always envisioned the OGRE AI as not only being intelligent but also programmed to be frugal, if the goal is to destroy the CP and the OGRE has an opportunity to ram or shoot it, I believe it would choose ram as shells cost money.
Shells costing money only matters if the Ogre makes it back off the board so that the rounds hypothetically preserved in its magazines are recoverable - and if it does that, repairs also cost money, probably a lot more money. Spending a couple extra turns getting your megatank shot up to save one tacnuke...
__________________
I don't know any 3e, so there is no chance that I am talking about 3e rules by accident.
Ulzgoroth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.