Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2020, 11:42 PM   #1
Niewodnik
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Default More Transferral Potion questions

I do have a question regarding treusure distribution.

Let's say Player A fights two monsters each worth 4 treasures (so 8 together), then asks for Player's B help, who agrees to help him for 3 tresures. The Player B then uses charm effect on one of the monsters. Then comes the Player C who plays Transferral Potion and chooses himself to fight. He succeeds and...

A) Player C gets 4 treasures, Player B - 3, Player A - 1 (due to first agreement)
B) Player C gets 4 treasures, Player B - 4, Player A - 0 (due to the rule saying that player B charmed the monster so the treasure is his)
C) ???

I'd say it's A but it won't hurt to ask :)
Niewodnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2020, 09:49 AM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: More Transferral Potion questions

I moved this from a stale thread because it's asking a different and somewhat more complicated question. (The previous question was about someone getting a second monster added to a fight after the the first monster was killed; as of rule changes in 2018, this cannot happen, so is no longer relevant.)

Once you have removed a monster from your combat, those rewards are yours even if the combat is then transferred to another player. (The FAQ only details with killing a monster, but I'm perfectly content to expand that answer to include charming and other methods of non-deadly monster removal.) Transferral Potion only transfers monsters that are current in the combat; monsters that were already dispatched don't get moved.

So, in your situation, player A would get one Treasure and player B would get three, based on their prior agreement for splitting the loot. Your second interpretation is flat wrong: the Munchkin rules are clear that the main player ALWAYS draws the Treasures for winning a fight, even if it was the helper's ability that actually removed the monster. (The rule is on page 4, second column, if you need a reference.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23

Let people like what they like.
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2020, 11:12 PM   #3
Niewodnik
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Default Re: More Transferral Potion questions

Thank you very much :) Your prior answers made me wonder and it's all clear now.

Helpful and fast at work as usual :) Keep it up!
Niewodnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.