Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2020, 02:37 PM   #1
Misplaced Buckeye
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Melee/Wizard newbie question

Once you have the basics down is there any reason why you cannot combine the two games to have a battle? Like a tag team sort off?
Misplaced Buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 03:06 PM   #2
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: Melee/Wizard newbie question

No, in fact that's greatly encouraged, and very fun and interesting!
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2020, 04:37 PM   #3
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Melee/Wizard newbie question

Page 7 of the Wizard Spell Reference Booklet has some notes on this, but there are a few inconsistencies to look out for when combining the two games: https://www.hcobb.com/tft/house_rules.html#GMscreen
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 05:12 PM   #4
Shostak
 
Shostak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: New England
Default Re: Melee/Wizard newbie question

Summoned myrmidons (or illusions of them) with spears or bows can be interesting alternatives to the broadsword wielding standard. Try a few battles with a wizard and two or three warriors on each side, or three or four wizards versus an equal number of fighters--those steel v magic games can be really instructive. And then add some terrain constraints like pits and pillars for even more fun!
Shostak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 06:36 PM   #5
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Melee/Wizard newbie question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shostak View Post
Summoned myrmidons (or illusions of them) with spears or bows
See the bottom of page 17 of the Wizard rulebook for why you can't have an illusion bowman who shoots arrows.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 06:31 AM   #6
Shostak
 
Shostak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: New England
Default Re: Melee/Wizard newbie question

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
See the bottom of page 17 of the Wizard rulebook for why you can't have an illusion bowman who shoots arrows.
Yes, that's true, and useful to point out to a newbie. However, just because an illusion can't divide does not mean that illusions of something like an archer can't be useful.
Shostak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 06:35 AM   #7
tomc
 
tomc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Default Re: Melee/Wizard newbie question

If you created a second illusion of an arrow, the illusionary archer could fire it, no?
__________________
OgreMap2

Freedom of Speech is not Freedom of Podium
tomc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 06:46 AM   #8
Chris Rice
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: London Uk, but originally from Scotland
Default Re: Melee/Wizard newbie question

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomc View Post
If you created a second illusion of an arrow, the illusionary archer could fire it, no?
If you can convince your GM of that then maybe. I probably wouldn't let separate illusions interact in that way and in any case the the range would be limited.
Chris Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 07:07 AM   #9
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Melee/Wizard newbie question

I cast an illusion of a cowgirl with a lasso.

Do her horns count as pole weapons?
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2020, 09:58 AM   #10
Shostak
 
Shostak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: New England
Default Re: Melee/Wizard newbie question

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomc View Post
If you created a second illusion of an arrow, the illusionary archer could fire it, no?
I'd be inclined to say the illusionary archer could loose a separate illusion of an arrow, yes.
Shostak is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.